top of page

 Workshop Recent developments in US visa and immigration law

Many questions arise for companies looking to do business in the United States. In addition to topics such as founding a company, product liability and drafting contracts, the need for a work permit is regularly a decisive aspect when planning and implementing a successful market entry. In addition to choosing the right visa, the question of the possibilities of visa-free work is of crucial importance. The planned business trip or the assembly of a machine that has already been delivered presents many companies with unforeseen difficulties. Here in particular, however, the following applies: the first step must be right. Good preparation is essential. 
In this workshop, qualified US visa attorneys will present new developments and important information on US visa and immigration law, the increased controls, security measures and the effects of legal violations. You will receive valuable first-hand insights into changes in the green card process, the requirements for assembly and installation work, the entry requirements for business travelers, the most important types of visas and the requirements for a successful application. In addition, the special issues in connection with US startups are dealt with in more detail. 

 

 

Our speakers

Hilde Holland

Attorney at Law and Partners, Wuersch & Gering LLP

 

Hilde Holland is a renowned attorney specializing in US immigration and naturalization law. For more than 25 years, she has represented foreign and US companies from all industries, as well as individuals in connection with US work visas and permits, permanent residency (green cards), family-related immigration and (dual) citizenship matters.
As part of her legal practice, Ms. Holland advises her clients on strategic issues relating to US visa and immigration law and compliance.
Ms. Holland received her law degree from the University of Cologne and is a member of the New York Bar. She is also on the board of the AHK New York.

Teri Simmons

Attorney at Law and Partners, Arnall Golden Gregory LLP

Teri A. Simmons is a partner at Arnall Golden Gregory in Atlanta, Georgia, where she has worked for 27 years. Arnall Golden Gregory has 160 attorneys with offices in Atlanta, Georgia and Washington DC. She leads the International practice, which focuses on the holistic representation of US-based German companies in the areas of corporate, labor, litigation, tax, intellectual property and immigration law. She also heads the immigration law practice at AGG, which is nationally recognized for her specialization in complex immigration law matters, as well as in the areas of employer compliance and white-collar crime. Ms. Simmons is a professor at the University of Georgia School of Law, where she teaches economic immigration law.

Brendan C James

Consul, Non-Immigrant Visa Unit, US Consulate General Frankfurt

Brendan James is U.S. Consul at the United States Consulate General in Frankfurt. Its business areas mainly include investor visas (e-visa) and supporting the business community in Germany. Before working in Germany, he was deputy spokesman for the US Embassy in Kabul and held foreign assignments in Tajikistan, Washington DC and Ireland. Mr. James holds an MBA in Finance and a BA in International Relations.

Peter Limberger
Chairman and CEO, CL Enterprises LLC

 

Peter Limberger comes from Germany. As an engineer, he worked in various functions in large companies, such as Mannesmann AG, in several countries and continents. With the reunification in Germany, Peter started his second career as an independent entrepreneur. He acquired and founded several companies, particularly in the automation and robotics segment, in Germany, Switzerland, France and China.
Peter Limberger has lived in Illinois since 2011, where he is Chairman and CEO of the family holding company CL Enterprises, which he founded together with his wife Inga Carus.
CLE has previously invested in agriculture, agro-industry, real estate and manufacturing companies; including a brewery.


 

dr Siegmar Pohl
Attorney-at-Law and Associate, Partner, Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP

Siegmar Pohl is a partner in the global law firm Squire Patton Boggs in San Francisco.  He advises German companies that are active in the US market - either by selling their products, by establishing subsidiaries, or by investing in or acquiring US companies.  As part of his corporate law practice, he structures companies and their operations to comply with immigration and visa requirements.  
dr Pohl has over 20 years of experience as a practicing attorney in Germany and the United States.  Because of this in-depth understanding of both legal systems, he is able to effectively advise on the optimal legal strategy for cross-border businesses.  He studied at the University of Iowa and at the University of Bonn (Dr. iur.). Siegmar regularly gives guest lectures at the Bucerius Law School in Hamburg and is a board member of the German American Business Association of California.  

 

moderator

Susanne Gellert, LL.M. 
Deputy General Manager
German American Chamber of Commerce, Inc., New York

Susanne Gellert has been working for the AHK USA-New York for over ten years and heads the Legal and Business Development Consulting departments there. The legal department of the AHK USA-New York offers support in clarifying legal issues. The Business Development Consulting department supports and advises German companies entering the US market and initiating business relationships. Since January 2018 she has taken on the role of deputy managing director.

Ms. Gellert studied law at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University in Munich, at the Universidad de Sevilla (Spain) and at the Fordham Law School (New York) and is admitted to the bar in both Germany and the USA._cc781905-5cde-3194 -bb3b-136bad5cf58d_
 

 

bottom of page

Workshop Aktuelle Entwicklungen im U.S. Visa- und Einwanderungsrecht

Für Unternehmen, die in den USA geschäftlich tätig werden möchten, stellen sich viele Fragen. Neben Themen wie Firmengründung, Produkthaftung und Vertragsgestaltung ist regelmäßig die Erforderlichkeit einer Arbeitserlaubnis ein entscheidender Aspekt bei der Planung und Umsetzung eines erfolgreichen Markteinstiegs. Neben der Auswahl des richtigen Visums ist vor allem die Frage nach den Möglichkeiten einer visumfreien Tätigkeit von entscheidender Bedeutung. Dabei stellt bereits die geplante Geschäftsreise oder Montage einer gelieferten Maschine viele Unternehmen vor ungeahnte Schwierigkeiten. Gerade hier gilt aber: Der erste Schritt muss stimmen. Eine gute Vorbereitung ist unverzichtbar. 
In diesem Workshop präsentieren qualifizierte U.S. Visaanwälte neue Entwicklungen und wichtige Informationen zum U.S. Visa- und Einwanderungsrecht, den erhöhten Kontrollen,  Sicherheitsmaßnahmen und Auswirkungen von Rechtsverstößen. Aus erster Hand erhalten Sie wertvolle Einblicke zu Änderungen im Green Card Verfahren, den Voraussetzungen von Montage – und Installationsarbeiten, den Einreisebestimmungen für Geschäftsreisende, den wichtigsten Visumsarten und den Voraussetzungen für eine erfolgreiche Beantragung. Zudem wird auf die besonderen Fragestellungen im Zusammenhang mit U.S. Startups näher eingegangen. 

 

 

Unsere Sprecher

Hilde Holland

Attorney at Law and Partner, Wuersch & Gering LLP

 

Hilde Holland ist eine renommierte Anwältin auf dem Gebiet des Einwanderungs- und Einbürgerungsrechts der USA. Seit mehr als 25 Jahren vertritt sie ausländische und US-Unternehmen jeglicher Branchen sowie Einzelpersonen im Zusammenhang mit US-Arbeitsvisa und Arbeitserlaubnissen, dauerhaften Aufenthaltserlaubnissen (Green Card), familienbezogener Einwanderung und Angelegenheiten der (doppelten) Staatsangehörigkeit.
Im Rahmen ihrer anwaltlichen Tätigkeit berät Frau Holland ihre Mandanten zu strategischen Fragen des US-Visa- und Einwanderungsrechts und der Compliance.
Frau Holland schloss ihr Studium der Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität zu Köln ab und ist Mitglied der Anwaltskammer von New York. Darüber hinaus ist sie im Vorstand der AHK New York.

Teri Simmons

Attorney at Law and Partner, Arnall Golden Gregory LLP

Teri A. Simmons ist Partnerin bei Arnall Golden Gregory in Atlanta, Georgia, wo sie seit 27 Jahren tätig ist. Arnall Golden Gregory beschäftigt 160 Anwälte an den Standorten in Atlanta, Georgia and Washington DC. Sie leitet die Internationale Abteilung, die sich auf die ganzheitliche Vertretung in den Bereichen des Gesellschafts-,  Arbeits-, Prozess-, Steuer-, Immaterialgüter- und Einwanderungsrechts von in den USA ansässigen deutschen Unternehmen konzentriert. Sie leitet zudem die Abteilung für Einwanderungsrecht bei AGG, welche nationale Anerkennung für ihre Spezialisierung in komplexen einwanderungsrechtlichen Angelegenheiten sowie den Bereichen der Arbeitgeber-Compliance und Wirtschaftskriminalität, genießt. Frau Simmons fungiert als Professorin an der University of Georgia School of Law, wo sie das Fach Wirtschaftseinwanderungsrecht lehrt.

Brendan C. James

Consul, Non-Immigrant Visa Unit, U.S. Consulate General Frankfurt

Brendan James ist US-Konsul des Generalkonsulates der Vereinigten Staaten in Frankfurt. Seine Geschäftsbereiche umfassen hauptsächlich Investorenvisa (E-Visa) und Unterstützung der Geschäftswelt in Deutschland. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in Deutschland war er stellvertretender Sprecher der US-Botschaft in Kabul und hatte Auslandsaufträge in Tadschikistan, Washington DC und Irland. Herr James verfügt über einen MBA-Abschluss im Fachbereich Finanzen und einen B.A. in „International Relations”.

Peter Limberger
Chairman and CEO, CL Enterprises LLC

 

Peter Limberger stammt aus Deutschland. Als Ingenieur arbeitete er in unterschiedlichen Funktionen in großen Unternehmen, wie z.B. Mannesmann AG, in mehreren Ländern und Kontinenten. Mit der Wiedervereinigung in Deutschland, begann Peter seine zweite Karriere als selbstständiger Unternehmer. Er erwarb und gründete mehrere Unternehmen, im Besonderen im Segment Automatisierung und Robotics in Deutschland, Schweiz, Frankreich und China.
Seit 2011 lebt Peter Limberger in Illinois wo er als Chairman and CEO die Geschäfte der Familienholding CL Enterprises, die er gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Inga Carus gegründet hat, führt.
CLE investierte bisher in Landwirtschaft, Agro-Industrie, Immobilien und Fertigungsunternehmen; darunter auch eine Brauerei.


 

Dr. Siegmar Pohl
Attorney-at-Law und Rechtsanwalt, Partner, Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP

Siegmar Pohl ist Partner der globalen Sozietät Squire Patton Boggs in San Francisco.  Er berät deutsche Unternehmen, die auf dem U.S.-Markt tätig sind – entweder durch den Verkauf ihrer Produkte, durch due Gründung von Tochtergesellschaften, oder indem sie in U.S. Unternehmen investieren oder diese akquirieren.  Als Teil seiner gesellschaftsrechtlichen Beratung strukturiert er Gesellschaften und ihren Geschäftsbetrieb so, dass sie den einwanderungsrechtlichen und visarechtlichen Anforderungen entsprechen.  
Dr. Pohl hat über 20 Jahre Erfahrung als praktizierender Anwalt in Deutschland und in den USA.  Wegen dieses tiefgreifenden Verständnisses beider Rechtssysteme kann er effektiv zur optimalen rechtlichen Strategie für grenzüberschreitende Unternehmen beraten.  Er hat an der University of Iowa und an der Universität Bonn (Dr. iur.) studiert. Siegmar hält regelmäßige Gastvortraege an der Bucerius Law School in Hamburg und ist Vorstandsmitglied der German American Business Association of California.  

 

Moderator

Susanne Gellert, LL.M. 
Stellvertretende Geschäftsführerin
German American Chamber of Commerce, Inc., New York

Susanne Gellert arbeitet seit über zehn Jahren für die AHK USA-New York und leitet dort die Abteilungen Recht und Business Development Consulting. Die Rechtsabteilung der AHK USA-New York bietet Unterstützung bei der Klärung von Rechtsthemen. Die Abteilung Business Development Consulting unterstützt und berät deutsche Unternehmen bei ihrem US-Markteintritt und der Anbahnung von Geschäftsbeziehungen. Seit Januar 2018 hat sie die Funktion als stellvertretende Geschäftsführerin übernommen.

Frau Gellert studierte Rechtswissenschaften an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in München, an der Universidad de Sevilla (Spanien) und der Fordham Law School (New York) und ist sowohl in Deutschland als auch in den USA als Rechtsanwältin zugelassen. 
 

 

© 2019 German American Chamber of Commerce of the Midwest, Inc.