top of page

Sales Strategies USA – Be ready to rethink

Commitment to the North American market represents an important step in the export strategy for many German companies. However, it is crucial for success to take into account the special features and differences in legal and intercultural terms.
On the one hand, it is crucial to develop a holistic sales strategy and adapt it to the target market. On the other hand, the details are crucial, such as the country-specific orientation of marketing materials. Distribution channels, from acquisition to after-sales service, often deviate from the German model and must be taken into account and developed accordingly.
The event is aimed at companies that are planning to enter the market or would like to further expand their business activities in the USA. In the workshop, representatives of German companies in the USA, which have already successfully established sales there, will be discussing. They pass on their experience and knowledge.
The workshop is intended to help companies to prepare comprehensively for the various steps involved in sales development in the USA and deals in particular with practical questions and their answers.

 

 

Our speakers

Karsten Bohrs
CEO, The Simpleshow Company SA

 

Karsten Böhrs is an experienced entrepreneur and sales expert. Since 2013, as CEO of simpleshow, he has been dedicated to the strategic expansion of the market leadership of the company, which has since outgrown its start-up shoes, through internationalization and innovation leadership through focused technology development. After more than 20 years of experience in management positions at multinationals such as Axel Springer and the Otto Group, Karsten turned to promising business models and personal projects as an entrepreneurial investor in 2007. as his
In addition to his experience, he cites the mixture of enthusiasm, energy and vision as a recipe for success.

Rudy Autumn
President & CEO, United Soft Plastics

 

Rudi Herbst founded United Soft Plastics, Inc. in May 2005. As the majority shareholder, he became Chairman, President & CEO of United Soft Plastics, Inc., an internationally operating and highly specialized TPE manufacturer headquartered in Lawrenceville, GA. In addition, the company is building another manufacturing facility in Houston, TX and has warehouses and sales offices in the United States, Argentina, Mexico, Germany, Malaysia and China. 
Rudi Herbst started his career 28 years ago as a developer of soft plastics at Gummiwerk Kraiburg in Germany. After establishing a US subsidiary in Duluth, GA in 1999, the TPE division was merged into a new company (Kraiburg TPE, Corp.) in 2001 and Rudi Herbst was appointed President & CEO.

 

 

Carsten Salewski
Executive Board - Sales, Marketing and International Business, Viscom AG

 

Carsten Salewski has been working in the electronics industry for over 20 years. In 2003, Mr. Salewski took over the management of the international business in America and in 2004 he took up the position of managing director of the American subsidiary based in Atlanta and the associated offices in Silicon Valley in California and in Mexico. He is Chairman of the IPC SMEMA Council in the IPC, a large American association of the electronics industry, and since 2015 has also been a volunteer on the board of the German-American Chamber of Commerce in Atlanta. In June 2018, Mr. Salewski took over responsibility for sales and international business on the Executive Board of Viscom AG.

Rodney Hunter

Business Director North/South America and MEA, Alfred Ritter GmbH & Co. KG

 

Rodney Hunter has 32 years of management experience at Alfred Ritter GmbH & Co. KG (Ritter Sport) and Procter & Gamble. He has held various leadership positions in various areas such as sales, distribution marketing and marketing and initiated the development of new markets and businesses in the US and internationally.
As Business Director North / South America and MEA at Ritter Sport, he is currently responsible for the development of sales strategies and the marketing of all varieties of the Ritter Sport brand in all regions except Europe and the UK. He also developed the Travel Retail division.
Rodney Hunter studied Political Science with Economics and Management at the University of Arizona.

 

 

moderator

Stefanie Ziska
Managing Director of the German American Chamber of Commerce of the Southern US, Inc.

Since joining the German American Chamber of Commerce of the Southern US, Inc. (GACC South)   in 2006, Stefanie Ziska has held various roles. In 2008 she became Marketing Director and in 2011 Vice President. She has been Managing Director since March 1, 2017.

Stefanie initiated the community brand "AHK USA" and started the current nationwide personnel initiative for the German dual vocational training system in the USA. 

In 2016, Stefanie received the Governor's Award of GA in the category "International Business Woman of the Year" and has also been a member of the US Committee of the German Chancellor Fellowship, which is awarded by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, since 2017.
 

 

bottom of page

Vertriebsstrategien USA – Seien Sie bereit umzudenken

Das Engagement im Nordamerikanischen Markt stellt für viele deutsche Unternehmen einen wichtigen Schritt in der Exportstrategie dar. Allerdings ist für den Erfolg entscheidend, die Besonderheiten und Unterschiede in rechtlicher und interkultureller Hinsicht zu berücksichtigen.
Zum einen ist es entscheidend eine ganzheitliche Vertriebsstrategie zu entwickeln und an den Zielmarkt anzupassen. Zum anderen sind die Details entscheidend, wie beispielsweise die landesspezifische Ausrichtung von Marketingmaterialien. Auch Vertriebswege von der Akquise bis hin zum After Sales Service, weichen oft vom deutschen Modell ab und müssen dementsprechend berücksichtigt und aufgebaut werden.
Die Veranstaltung richtet sich an Unternehmen, die den Markteinstieg planen oder ihr wirtschaftliches Engagement in den USA weiter ausbauen möchten. Im Workshop diskutieren Vertreter deutscher Unternehmen in den USA, die den Vertrieb dort bereits erfolgreich aufgebaut haben. Sie geben ihre Erfahrungen und Ihr Wissen weiter.
Der Workshop soll Unternehmen dabei helfen sich umfassend auf die verschiedenen Schritte, die der Vertriebsaufbau in den USA mit sich bringt, vorzubereiten und befasst sich besonders mit praktischen Fragestellungen und deren Beantwortung.

 

 

Unsere Sprecher

Karsten Böhrs
CEO, The Simpleshow Company S.A.

 

Karsten Böhrs ist erfahrener Unternehmer und Vertriebsexperte. Seit 2013 widmet er sich als CEO der simpleshow dem strategischen Ausbau der Marktführerschaft des mittlerweile aus den Startup-Schuhen entwachsenen Unternehmens durch Internationalisierung sowie der Innovationsführerschaft durch fokussierte Technologieentwicklung. Nach über 20 Jahren Erfahrung in Führungspositionen bei Multinationals wie Axel Springer und der Otto Group, wandte sich Karsten ab 2007 als unternehmerisch agierender Investor erfolgversprechenden Geschäftsmodellen und persönlichen Projekten zu. Als sein
Erfolgsrezept benennt er neben seinen Erfahrungswerten v.a. die Mischung aus Enthusiasmus, Energie und Vision.

Rudi Herbst
President & CEO, United Soft Plastics

 

Rudi Herbst gründete United Soft Plastics, Inc. im Mai 2005. Als Hauptaktionär wurde er Chairman, President & CEO von United Soft Plastics, Inc., einem international operierenden und hoch spezialisierten TPE-Hersteller mit Hauptsitz in Lawrenceville, GA. Darüber hinaus baut das Unternehmen gerade eine weitere Produktionsstätte in Houston, TX, auf und unterhält Lager und Vertriebsbüros in den USA, Argentinien, Mexiko, Deutschland, Malaysia und China. 
Rudi Herbst begann seine Karriere vor 28 Jahren als Entwickler von weichen Kunststoffen bei Gummiwerk Kraiburg in Deutschland. Nach der Gründung einer US-Tochtergesellschaft 1999 in Duluth, GA, wurde der TPE-Bereich 2001 in einer neuen Firma (Kraiburg TPE, Corp.) überführt und Rudi Herbst zum President & CEO ernannt.

 

 

Carsten Salewski
Vorstand - Vertrieb, Marketing und Internationales Geschäft, Viscom AG

 

Carsten Salewski ist seit über 20 Jahren in der Elektronikindustrie tätig. Im Jahr 2003 übernahm Herr Salewski die Leitung des internationalen Geschäfts in Amerika und trat 2004 die Position des Geschäftsführers der amerikanischen Tochtergesellschaft mit Sitz in Atlanta und den dazugehörigen Geschäftsstellen im Silicon Valley in Kalifornien und in Mexiko an. Er ist Chairman des IPC SMEMA Councils in der IPC, einem großen amerikanischen Verband der Elektronikindustrie, und seit 2015 auch im Vorstand der Deutsch-Amerikanischen Handelskammer in Atlanta ehrenamtlich tätig. Im Juni 2018 übernimmt Herr Salewski im Vorstand der Viscom AG den Aufgabenbereich Vertrieb und Internationales Geschäft.

Rodney Hunter

Business Director North/South America and MEA, Alfred Ritter GmbH & Co. KG

 

Rodney Hunter verfügt über 32 Jahre Erfahrung im Management bei Alfred Ritter GmbH & Co. KG (Ritter Sport) und Procter & Gamble. Er hat in verschiedenen Bereichen, wie Verkauf, Vertriebsmarketing und  Marketing diverse Führungspositionen übernommen und den Aufbau von neuen Märkten und Geschäften in den USA und international initiiert.
Aktuell ist er als Business Director North / South America and MEA bei Ritter Sport für die Entwicklung von Vertriebsstrategien und der Vermarktung aller Sorten der Marke Ritter Sport in sämtlichen Regionen außer Europa und UK verantwortlich. Er entwickelte außerdem den Bereich Travel Retail.
Rodney Hunter hat an der University of Arizona Politische Wissenschaften mit Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Management studiert.

 

 

Moderator

Stefanie Ziska
Geschäftsführerin German American Chamber of Commerce of the Southern U.S., Inc.

Seit ihrem Eintritt in die German American Chamber of Commerce of the Southern U.S., Inc. (GACC South)  im Jahr 2006, hielt Stefanie Ziska verschiedene Rollen inne. 2008 wurde sie Marketingdirektor und 2011 Vizepräsident. Seit dem 1. März 2017 ist sie Geschäftsführerin.

Stefanie initiierte die Gemeinschaftsmarke „AHK USA“ und startete die aktuelle bundesweite Personalinitiative für das deutsche duale Berufsbildungssystem in den USA. 

2016 wurde Stefanie mit dem Governor's Award of GA in der Kategorie “International Business Woman of the Year” ausgezeichnet und ist außerdem seit 2017 Mitglied des US-Komitees des Bundeskanzler-Stipendiums, welches von der Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung vergeben wird.
 

 

© 2019 German American Chamber of Commerce of the Midwest, Inc.