top of page

Legal framework for entering the US market

For companies looking to conduct business in the USA, many legal questions arise. How does one establish a company? What legal form is the right one? What visas are needed? How can one protect against liability risks and lawsuits? What should be considered regarding employee assignment? Adequate preparation is essential for a successful market entry.

Topics such as company formation, product liability, contract drafting, and visa law are crucial aspects in the planning and implementation of a successful market entry.

The workshop "Legal framework for entering the US market" is specifically tailored to companies planning to enter the US market. Experienced representatives of medium-sized companies who have successfully taken this initial step will speak in the workshop about their experiences with entering the US market and provide insights into how they have overcome various legal challenges.

Our speakers

Amberg, Matthias pic 20210202.jpg

Matthias Amberg

Partner, Rödl & Partner

A native of Germany, Matthias Amberg graduated from the DHBW Karlsruhe (Germany) in 2000 with a Diploma in Economics (specialization in Taxation and Auditing). After his studies, Matthias gained international working experience at the CPA firm Alliotts in London, UK. In preparation of the German Tax Advisor exam (Steuerberater) he moved back to Germany and joined a medium sized CPA firm in Dortmund (Germany). In 2004, Matthias successfully passed the German Tax Advisor exam (Steuerberater) and the CINA exam (Certified in International Accounting). 

Matthias moved to Atlanta, GA at the end of 2004 and joined Rödl & Partner. In 2007 he relocated to Chicago to head up the Rödl & Partner office in Chicago and he also qualified as a US Certified Public Accountant. Since 2012 Matthias is a Partner with Rödl & Partner and leads the Business Development Department of Rödl & Partner in the US. 

Matthias serves primarily German Mittelstand companies with operations in the US. His practice focuses on financial audit services in accordance with U.S. GAAP, IFRS and German GAAP (HGB). Additionally, he is dedicated to comprehensively advising his clients on international tax matters and efficiently managing their federal, state, and local tax compliance. He assists clients with cross-border matters such as Transfer Pricing analysis and is engaged in inbound investment consulting for Start-ups and U.S. market entry projects. Furthermore, he is the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the German American Chamber of Commerce Midwest (AHK) since 2022 and he is a Board Member and the Treasurer of the Rotary/One club in Chicago since 2019.

jaan_imag.jpg

Jaan Brunken

CO-Founder and General Manager, Wingfield GmbH

Jaan Brunken, Co-Founder and General Manager of Wingfield GmbH. Wingfield is a global leader in Video and Tracking solutions for Racket Sports. He is a former tennis professional and is leading his company's expansion into the United States. Wingfield has equipped more than 500 tennis courts and is now expanding into pickleball, utilizing its patented technology for tracking. The past 24 months have been particularly exciting, from acquiring the first customers to founding the U.S. Inc subsidiary and hiring the first U.S. employees. Jaan can share a wealth of firsthand experience on what it means to take his company to the U.S 

Max-1024x1024-640x480.jpg

Maximilian Conrad

Legal Advisor, Statista

Maximilian Conrad gained experience in the field of journalism inside the Berlin pages of the newspaper F.A.Z. and with the Spiegel Publishing House before he founded in 2005 the Anwaltskanzlei Conrad, a law firm focusing on fast-growing international companies. In 2006, he oversaw the expansion of Finanzen.de AG and, since 2008, the growth of Content Fleet GmbH as Managing Director. Since the incorporation of Statista in 2009, he has been advising the company on legal questions regarding the international expansion. The company has now offices in more than 20 countries and over 1.000 employees.

ecfb5ec9-ea6f-411c-ae10-e103bf3ecdd6.jpg

Nicolas Abe

CEO | LANCO Group

Nicolas Abé is the CEO of LANCO Group GmbH, a leading provider of tent systems, decontamination systems, and flexible tanks. With 30 years of industry experience, he is responsible for the strategic direction, operations, and growth of LANCO's business in the European and North American markets, as well as the global coordination and integration of LANCO's subsidiaries in six countries and its partners. Under his leadership, LANCO has developed into a trusted supplier for customers worldwide, while fostering a company-wide culture of excellence, collaboration, and diversity. Nicolas' strategic vision, strong leadership skills, and commitment to innovation and excellence have contributed to making LANCO North America Corp. a significant player in the industry in less than two years.

moderation

Photo_Susanne Gellert.jpg

Susanna Gellert

President & CEO, AHK New York

Susanne Gellert, LL.M. is the President & CEO of the German American Chamber of Commerce, Inc. (GACC) in New York.
She has longstanding experience of over 15 years within the AHK network and is an expert on German-American business matters. In her previous role as Vice President and Director of the Legal & Consulting Department for the GACC she was responsible for advising German companies on U.S. market entry strategies and legal matters.
Susanne studied law at Ludwig Maximilian University in Munich (Germany), Universidad de Sevilla (Spain) and Fordham Law School (New York). She is admitted to the bar in Germany and New York and has worked for law firms in Germany, Spain and the United States.

This workshop is sponsored by

Denver South logo
bottom of page

top of page

Für Unternehmen, die in den USA geschäftlich tätig werden möchten, stellen sich viele rechtliche Fragen. Wie gründet man eine Firma? Welche Rechtsform ist die richtige? Welche Visa werden benötigen? Wie kann man sich vor Haftungsrisiken und Klagen schützen? Was ist beim Thema Mitarbeiterentsendung und zu beachten? Eine gute Vorbereitung ist für einen erfolgreichen Markteinstieg unverzichtbar.

 

Themen wie Firmengründung, Produkthaftung, Vertragsgestaltung und Visarecht sind entscheidende Aspekte bei der Planung und Umsetzung eines erfolgreichen Markteinstiegs.

 

Der Workshop „Rechtliche Rahmenbedingungen beim US-Markeinstieg“ ist speziell auf Unternehmen zugeschnitten, die einen Markteinstieg in die USA planen. Erfahrene Vertreter mittelständischer Unternehmen, die diesen ersten Schritt erfolgreich durchgeführt haben, werden im Workshop über ihre Erfahrungen beim US-Markteinstieg sprechen und Einblicke geben, wie sie verschiedene rechtliche Herausforderungen bewältigt haben.

Unsere Sprecher

Amberg, Matthias pic 20210202.jpg

Matthias Amberg

Partner, Rödl & Partner

Matthias Amberg ist Partner bei Rödl & Partner und mitverantwortlich für die Niederlassung in Chicago. Als deutscher Steuerberater und US- Certified Public Accountant berät Herr Amberg seit mehr als 22 Jahren (davon seit 18 Jahren vor Ort in den USA) deutsche mittelständische Unternehmen und international tätige Konzerne aus verschiedenen Branchen mit Tochtergesellschaften in den USA. Seine Beratungsschwerpunkte liegen in der steuerlichen Gestaltung von U.S.-Investitionen und der Jahresabschlussprüfung nach U.S.-GAAP/IFRS mit Überleitung auf HGB.  

Nach dem Studium zum Diplom-Betriebswirt war Herr Amberg ein Jahr bei einer Wirtschaftsprüfungs- und Steuerberatungskanzlei in London, Großbritannien, tätig. Für die Vorbereitung auf die Steuerberaterprüfung zog er zurück in seine Heimat nach Dortmund, Deutschland, und war dort für eine größere mittelständische Kanzlei tätig. Im Jahr 2004 absolvierte er erfolgreich das Steuerberaterexamen. Ende desselben Jahres zog er nach Atlanta, GA, um dort in der Niederlassung von Rödl & Partner USA den Grundstein für seine Laufbahn innerhalb der Kanzlei zu legen. Seit der Eröffnung der Niederlassung in Chicago Ende 2007 trägt Herr Amberg zum dortigen Wachstum und Erfolg bei. Herr Amberg ist regelmäßiger Referent für Themen wie zum Beispiel Markteintritt in die USA und US-steuerliche Aspekte bei Seminaren in Deutschland.  

 

Darüber hinaus ist Herr Amberg Vorsitzender des Board of Directors der Deutsch-Amerikanischen Handelskammer Mittlerer Westen (AHK/GACC Midwest) und Mitglied des Vorstands von RotaryOne in Chicago. 

jaan_imag.jpg

Jaan Brunken

Mitbegründer und Geschäftsführer, Wingfield GmbH

Jaan Brunken, Mitbegründer und Geschäftsführer der Wingfield GmbH. Wingfield ist ein weltweit führender Anbieter von Video- und Trackinglösungen für Racketsportarten. Er ist ein ehemaliger Tennisprofi und leitet die Expansion seines Unternehmens in die Vereinigten Staaten. Wingfield hat mehr als 500 Tennisplätze ausgestattet und expandiert nun mit ihrer patnetierten Trackingtechnologie in weitere Sportarten. Die vergangenen 24 Monate waren besonders aufregend, von der Gewinnung der ersten US Kunden über die Gründung der US-Tochtergesellschaft bis hin zur Einstellung der ersten US-Mitarbeiter. Jaan kann Erfahrungen aus erster Hand teilen, was es bedeutet, sein Unternehmen in die USA zu bringen.

Max-1024x1024-640x480.jpg

Maximilian Conrad

Legal Advisor, Statista

Maximilian Conrad sammelte journalistische Erfahrungen bei der Berliner F.A.Z. und beim Spiegel-Verlag, bevor er 2005 die Anwaltskanzlei Conrad gründete, die sich auf wachstumsstarke internationale Unternehmen konzentriert. Im Jahr 2006 leitete er den Aufbau der Finanzen.de AG und seit 2008 als Geschäftsführer das Wachstum der Content Fleet GmbH. Seit der Gründung von Statista im Jahr 2009 berät er das Unternehmen in rechtlichen Fragen der internationalen Expansion. Das Unternehmen ist mittlerweile in mehr als 20 Ländern vertreten und beschäftigt über 1.000 Mitarbeiter.

ecfb5ec9-ea6f-411c-ae10-e103bf3ecdd6.jpg

Nicolas Abe

CEO | LANCO Group

Nicolas Abé ist CEO der LANCO Group GmbH, einem führenden Anbieter von Zeltsystemen, Dekontaminationssystemen und flexiblen Tanks. Mit 30 Jahren Erfahrung in der Branche ist er für die strategische Ausrichtung, den Betrieb und das Wachstum des LANCO-Geschäfts auf dem europäischen und nordamerikanischen Markt sowie für die globale Koordination und Integration der LANCO-Tochtergesellschaften in sechs Ländern und seiner Partner verantwortlich. Unter seiner Führung hat sich LANCO zu einem vertrauenswürdigen Lieferanten für Kunden weltweit entwickelt, während gleichzeitig eine unternehmensweite Kultur der Exzellenz, Zusammenarbeit und Vielfalt gefördert wurde. Nicolas' strategische Vision, seine starken Führungsqualitäten und sein Engagement für Innovation und Spitzenleistungen haben dazu beigetragen, LANCO North America Corp. in weniger als zwei Jahren zu einem wichtigen Akteur in der Branche zu machen.

Moderation

Photo_Susanne Gellert.jpg

Susanne Gellert
Geschäftsführerin, AHK USA-New York

Susanne Gellert, LL.M.  ist Geschäftsführerin der Deutsch-Amerikanischen Handelskammer in New York. Sie hat langjährige Erfahrung von über 15 Jahren im AHK-Netzwerk und ist Expertin für deutsch-amerikanische Wirtschaftsangelegenheiten. In ihrer vorherigen Position als stellvertretende Geschäftsführerin und Leiterin der Legal & Consulting Abteilung war sie primär verantwortlich für die rechtliche Beratung deutscher Unternehmen und die Entwicklung von US-Markteintrittsstrategien. 

Frau Gellert studierte Rechtswissenschaften an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in München (Deutschland), Universidad de Sevilla (Spanien) und der Fordham Law School (New York). Sie ist in Deutschland und New York als Rechtsanwältin zugelassen und hat für Kanzleien in Deutschland, Spanien und den USA gearbeitet. 

Dieser Workshop wird gesponsert von:

Denver South logo
bottom of page