top of page
Industrie-4.0_5x5.png

The dovetailing of production and automation technology with the latest information and communication technology, known in Germany as Industry 4.0, is also an important topic in the USA. The development of fully automated and internet-connected factories, so-called "smart factories", is being promoted in the USA under the term "Industrial Internet of Things" (IIoT) "Smart Manufacturing" or "Advanced Manufacturing".

 

Efficiency gains through IIoT are crucial for the US to remain competitive in the global manufacturing market and gain attractiveness as a manufacturing location. Industry 4.0 solutions from German providers can help to digitally network systems, parts and processes and enable highly individualized production and flexible manufacturing.

 

The North American market for IIoT solutions is estimated to grow to $599 billion by 2021. The USA is very interesting as a sales market for IIoT solutions. According to the DIGITAL Economy Monitoring Report 2016, the USA is the country with the best framework conditions for the digital economy in terms of technical infrastructure and the intensity of use of digital technologies.

 

In this workshop, company representatives will exchange their experiences in introducing Industry 4.0 solutions in the USA compared to Germany and discuss the current status of the implementation of digitization measures. The workshop will also show the participants current trends and market opportunities and look at the Industry 4.0 landscape in the USA.

Our speakers

Photo_Stephan Beyer.png

dr Stephen Beyer

CEO, BigRep GmbH

dr Stephan Beyer is the CEO of BigRep GmbH. He is one of the founders and a driving force in terms of strategic company orientation and global expansion.

dr Beyer previously held senior positions in venture capital firms and start-up finance companies. He is an engineer by training, but received a doctorate in finance from the Technical University of Berlin.

BigRep develops the world's largest 3D printers in series production. The award-winning printers have set new standards in the areas of speed, reliability and efficiency. BigRep is headquartered in Berlin and has offices in New York, Boston and Singapore.

Photo_Claus Cremers.jpg

Claus Cremers

Sales Representative and Business Development,  MindSphere Future Maker, Siemens AG – MindSphere

Claus Cremers earned a degree in business administration with a focus on innovation management after studying at the University of Paderborn and the Technical University of Berlin. After completing his studies, he first started as an account manager for IT outsourcing at Siemens and IT Solutions and later at Atos, Europe's leading provider for cloud computing, cyber security and high-performance computing.
Claus returned to Siemens and worked in business development with a focus on digitization and start-ups. 
In 2017 he took over his current position in Business Development and Future Maker for MindSphere - the cloud-based and open IIoT operating system from Siemens.
Claus has 2 children and lives with his family in Berlin

Photo_Alexandros Mikros.jpg

Alexandros Mics

Head of Key Account Management and member of the Executive Board 

Mr. Mikros completed his studies in business administration at the Nuremberg University of Applied Sciences with a degree in business administration. Before joining Würth, he worked for several years in supply chain management at INA Schaeffler KG in Herzogenaurach. In 2007, he switched to sales and started working in key account management at Würth Industrie Service. In 2013 he took over the management of the newly founded construction machinery division and was appointed a member of the management board. Since 2015, Mr. Mikros has had overall responsibility for Key Account Management Customer Industries, which includes the customer segments Construction Machinery, Agriculture Equipment, Transportation, Rail and Maritime.

Photo_David Petrikat.jpg

David Petrikat

Global Director of Marketing, relayr Inc.

David Petrikat joined relayr in August 2017 as Global Director of Marketing. He has been part of the relayr management team since January 2018. In his position, David is responsible for the relayr brand, expanding the thought leader position and creating awareness and demand in the target markets. David's entire career to date has been in tech-focused B2B companies. He worked for numerous verticals in sectors such as eProcurement, IT and ITC system integration or the FinTech sector. In the IIoT industry, the technical side fascinates him just as much as the mixture of insurance and financing in an existing market.

moderation

Kristian Wolf.jpg

Christian Wolf

CEO, Representative of German Business for the Western US

Kristian Wolf has been working in the AHK organization since 2001 and has headed the delegate office of German industry for the western United States since April 2018.He studied international business administration in the USA and started his career at an international financial services company. This was followed by several positions in the AHK network, until he became Managing Director of the Chamber of Commerce Abroad in Atlanta, USA in 2006. In 2011 he moved to AHK Australia and managed the business there until March 2018. He volunteers on the board of several organizations.

bottom of page

Workshop Industrie 4.0 

Die Verzahnung der Produktion und Automatisierungstechnik mit modernster Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie, die in Deutschland unter dem Begriff Industrie 4.0 bekannt ist, ist auch in den USA ein wichtiges Thema. Die Entwicklung vollautomatisierter und im Internet vernetzter Fabriken, sog. „Smart Factories“, wird in den USA unter dem Begriff „Industrial Internet of Things“ (IIoT) „Smart Manufacturing“ oder „Advanced Manufacturing“ vorangetrieben.

 

Effizienzgewinne durch IIoT sind von entscheidender Bedeutung für die USA, um im globalen Fertigungsmarkt konkurrenzfähig zu bleiben und als Produktionsstandort an Attraktivität zu gewinnen. Industrie 4.0 Lösungen von deutschen Anbietern können dabei helfen Anlagen, Teile und Prozesse digital miteinander zu vernetzen und eine stark individualisierte Produktion und flexible Fertigung zu ermöglichen.

 

Der nordamerikanische Markt für IIoT-Lösungen soll nach Schätzungen bis 2021 auf 599 Milliarden US-Dollar anwachsen. Die USA sind als Absatzmarkt für IIoT-Lösungen sehr interessant. Laut dem Monitoring-Report Wirtschaft DIGITAL 2016 sind die USA das Land mit den besten Rahmenbedingungen für die digitale Wirtschaft bezüglich der technischen Infrastruktur und der Nutzungsintensität digitaler Technologien.

 

In diesem Workshop werden sich Unternehmensvertreter über ihre Erfahrung bei der Einführung von Industrie 4.0 Lösungen in den USA im Vergleich zu Deutschland austauschen und über den aktuellen Stand der Umsetzung von Digitalisierungsmaßnahmen diskutieren. Der Workshop wird den Teilnehmern zudem aktuelle Trends und Marktchancen aufzeigen und die Industrie 4.0 Landschaft in den USA betrachten.

Unsere Sprecher

Dr. Stephan Beyer

CEO, BigRep GmbH

Dr. Stephan Beyer ist der CEO von BigRep GmbH. Er ist einer der Gründer und eine treibende Kraft was die strategische Unternehmensausrichtung sowie der globalen Expansion betrifft.

Dr. Beyer hatte zuvor leitende Positionen in Risikokapitalgesellschaften und Start-Up Finanzunternehmen. Er ist gelernter Ingenieur, erlangte jedoch einen Doktortitel in Finanzen von der Technischen Universität Berlin.

BigRep entwickelt die weltweit größten 3D Drucker in Serienproduktion. Die vielfach ausgezeichneten Drucker haben in den Bereichen Geschwindigkeit, Zuverlässigkeit und Effizienz neue Maßstäbe gesetzt. BigRep hat seinen Hauptsitz in Berlin und Niederlassungen in New York, Boston und Singapur.

Claus Cremers

Sales Representative and Business Development,  MindSphere Future Maker, Siemens AG – MindSphere

Claus Cremers erlangte ein Diplom als Betriebswirt mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Innovationsmanagement, nach einem Studium an der Universität Paderborn und der Technischen Universität Berlin. Nach Abschluss seines Studiums begann er zunächst als Account Manager für IT Outsourcing bei Siemens und IT Solutions und später Atos, Europas führendem Anbieter für Cloud Computing, Cybersicherheit und High-Performance Computing.
Claus kehrte zu Siemens zurück und arbeitete im Business Development mit Fokus auf Digitalisierung und Start-Ups. 
2017 übernahm er seine aktuelle Position im Business Development und Future Maker für MindSphere – das cloud-basiertes und offenes IIoT Betriebssystem von Siemens.
Claus hat 2 Kinder und lebt mit seiner Familie in Berlin

Alexandros Mikros

Leiter Key Account Management und Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung 

Herr Mikros absolvierte sein Studium der Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Fachhochschule Nürnberg mit Abschluss zum Diplom Betriebswirt. Vor der Tätigkeit bei Würth war er mehrere Jahre im Supply Chain Management der INA Schaeffler KG in Herzogenaurach tätig. 2007 erfolgte der Wechsel in den Vertrieb und der Einstieg in das Key Account Management der Würth Industrie Service. Im Jahre 2013 übernahm er die Leitung der neu gegründeten Division Baumaschinen und wurde zum Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung ernannt. Seit 2015 trägt Herr Mikros die Gesamtverantwortung des Key Account Management Kundenbranchen, welches die Kundesegmente Construction Machinery, Agriculture Equipment, Transportation, Rail und Maritime umfasst.

David Petrikat

Global Director of Marketing, relayr Inc.

David Petrikat stieß im August 2017 als Global Director of Marketing zu relayr. Seit Januar 2018 ist er Teil des relayr Management-Teams. In seiner Position verantwortet David das relayr Brand, baut die Thought-Leader-Position aus und schafft Aufmerksamkeit sowie Nachfrage in den Zielmärkten. Davids gesamte bisherige Berufslaufbahn verlief in Tech-fokussierten B2B-Unternehmen. Dabei war er in Branchen wie eProcurement, IT und ITC System-Integration oder dem FinTech-Sektor für zahlreiche Vertikale tätig. In der IIoT-Branche fasziniert ihn die technische Seite genauso wie die Mischung aus Versicherung und Finanzierung in einem bestehenden Markt.

Moderation

Kristian Wolf

CEO, Representative of German Business for the Western U.S.

Kristian Wolf ist seit 2001 in der AHK Organisation tätig und leitet seit April 2018 das Delegiertenbüro der deutschen Wirtschaft für den Westen der USA. Er studierte internationale Betriebswirtschaft in den USA und begann seine Karriere bei einem internationalen Finanzdienstleistungsunternehmen. Darauf folgten mehrere Positionen im AHK-Netzwerk, bis er 2006 Geschäftsführer der Auslandshandelskammer in Atlanta, USA wurde. In 2011 wechselte er zur AHK Australien und leitete dort bis März 2018 die Geschäfte. Ehrenamtlich engagiert er sich im Vorstand mehrerer Organisationen.

© 2019 German American Chamber of Commerce of the Midwest, Inc.