top of page

 Medical Engineering Workshop

The US market for medical technology is the largest in the world and has considerable growth potential. Demographic development plays a major role here: the US population is constantly growing, but is also aging. More than three quarters of seniors in the United States have at least one chronic condition. In addition, widespread obesity is a significant risk factor. More than a third of adults and around a sixth of all children and adolescents are overweight. More than a third of the demand for medical technology in the USA is covered by imports.

The regulations and the approval process of the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) can pose a challenge for medical technology manufacturers. With good advice, however, this is classified as predictable by industry experts.

 

The medical technology workshop highlights the current opportunities for German medical technology manufacturers and is intended to present possible challenges associated with entering the market.

Our speakers

Marius Balger

CEO, BIT Analytical Instruments GmbH 
 

After completing his mechanical engineering studies at the Technical University of Darmstadt, Marius Balger began his management career in 1996 as General Manager at MAN AG, responsible for the printing machine business in Asia and the Pacific. By moving to BIT Analytical Instruments, he initially took over sales as Vice President and shortly thereafter (2004) as Managing Director with overall responsibility. Since then, his focus at BIT has been on global growth, especially in the USA and China, as well as on expanding the service portfolio and the technical consolidation of the group. Today, BIT is the leading independent provider of high-quality in-vitro diagnostic analysis instruments in the international high-end OEM market.

 

 

Caroll H. Neubauer

Chairman & CEO, B. Braun of America Inc. 

Mr. Neubauer is a member of the Executive Board of the B. Braun Melsungen AG Group. He has been part of the B. Braun group of companies for more than 28 years. In 1991 he was elected to the Management Board of B. Braun Melsungen AG at the company's headquarters in Melsungen and appointed General Counsel of the B. Braun Group. In 1996 he assumed operational responsibility for the North American subgroup of B. Braun. Mr. Neubauer passed the 2nd state law examination in Baden-Württemberg after studying at the Albert Ludwigs University, Freiburg i. Br. and a Masters of Law degree from Georgetown University,  Washington, DC. He is Vice President of the German-American Chambers of Commerce and Chairman of the German-American Chamber of Commerce in New York.

Dirk and driver

Member of the Board of Management International Sales & Chief Commercial Officer, Bauerfeind AG

 

After completing his studies in business administration at the University of Applied Sciences in Ludwigshafen/Rhein, Dirk Driver worked from 1987-2001 at Knoll AG, the pharmaceutical subsidiary of BASF AG, with regional sales responsibility in the parent company for European markets, Asia/Pacific and for several years as regional managing director for Scandinavia . Following his leadership role in Abbott Scandinavia's Pharmaceuticals Division from 2001-2002, he joined the Novartis Group, where he held various global sales leadership positions from 2002-2012. He has been a member of the Management Board of Bauerfeind AG since 2013 and works in international sales and as the company's Chief Commercial Officer. 

 

moderation

Sven Langenau
Managing Director, AHK USA-Houston

 

Mr. Langenau has been working for the AHK USA in Houston since July 2013 and has been in charge of the Consulting Services department ever since. In November 2015, Mr. Langenau took over the management of the office as Managing Director.

After completing his studies to become a Dipl.-Ing. in precision engineering and electronic equipment technology in 1998, Mr. Langenau worked as a department and branch manager for global companies in the areas of product management and sales.

bottom of page

Workshop Medizintechnik

Der US-Markt für Medizintechnik ist der größte weltweit und besitzt ein ansehnliches Wachstumspotenzial. Die demografische Entwicklung spielt hierbei eine große Rolle: Die US-Bevölkerung wächst stetig weiter, altert dabei aber auch. Über drei Viertel der Senioren in den USA leiden an mindestens einer chronischen Erkrankung. Zudem stellt die weit verbreitete Fettleibigkeit einen maßgeblichen Risikofaktor dar. Mehr als ein Drittel der Erwachsenen sowie circa ein Sechstel aller Kinder und Jugendlichen sind übergewichtig. Mehr als ein Drittel des Bedarfs an Medizintechnik in den USA werden durch Importe gedeckt.

Eine Herausforderung für Medizintechnikhersteller können dabei das Regelwerk und der Zulassungsprozess der U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) darstellen. Bei guter Beratung wird dieser von Branchenkennern allerdings als berechenbar eingestuft.

 

Der Workshop Medizintechnik beleuchtet die gegenwärtigen Chancen deutscher Medizintechnikhersteller und soll mögliche Herausforderungen, die mit einem Markteintritt verbunden sind, darstellen.

Unsere Sprecher

Marius Balger

CEO, BIT Analytical Instruments GmbH 
 

Nach absolviertem Maschinenbau Studium zum Dipl. Ing. an der TU Darmstadt begann Marius Balger seine Management-Laufbahn 1996 als General Manager bei MAN AG, verantwortlich für das Druckmaschinengeschäft in Asien und Pazifik. Durch den Wechsel zu BIT Analytical Instruments übernahm er zunächst als Vize Präsident die Vertriebs- und kurz darauf (2004) als Geschäftsführer die Gesamtverantwortung. Sein Fokus bei BIT liegt seitdem auf globalem Wachstum, insbesondere in USA und China, sowie auf Ausbau des Serviceportfolios und der technischen Vertiefung der Gruppe. Heute ist BIT der führende unabhängige Anbieter für hochwertige In-Vitro-Diagnostik-Analyseinstrumente im internationalen High-End OEM-Markt.

 

 

Caroll H. Neubauer

Chairman & CEO, B. Braun of America Inc. 

Herr Neubauer ist Mitglied des Konzernvorstands der B. Braun Melsungen AG Gruppe. Er ist seit mehr als 28 Jahren Teil der B. Braun Unternehmensgruppe. 1991 wurde er im Firmenhauptsitz in Melsungen in den Vorstand der B. Braun Melsungen AG gewählt und zum General Counsel der B. Braun Gruppe ernannt. In 1996 übernahm er die operative Verantwortung für den nordamerikanischen Teilkonzern von B. Braun. Herr Neubauer hat das 2. Juristische Staatsexamen in Baden-Württemberg nach seinem Studium an der Albert Ludwigs- Universität, Freiburg i. Br. und einen Masters of Law Studium an der Georgetown University,  Washington, D.C. abgeschlossen. Er ist Vize-Präsident der Deutsch-Amerikanischen Handelskammern und Vorsitzender der Deutsch-Amerikanischen Handelskammer in New York.

Dirk U. Treiber

Vorstand Vertrieb International & Chief Commercial Officer, Bauerfeind AG

 

Nach Beendigung seines Studiums der Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der FH Ludwigshafen/Rhein war Dirk Treiber von 1987-2001 bei der Knoll AG, der Pharmatochter der BASF AG in der regionalen Vertriebsverantwortung im Stammhaus für europäische Märkte, Asien/Pazifik und mehrjährig als regionaler Geschäftsführer für Skandinavien tätig. Im Anschluss an seine Führungsrolle in der Pharmadivision von Abbott Scandinavia von 2001-2002 folgte sein Einstieg in die Novartis Gruppe, wo er von 2002-2012 verschiedene globale Vertriebsführungspositionen innehatte. Seit 2013 ist er Vorstandsmitglied der Bauerfeind AG und ist im internationalen Vertrieb und als Chief Commercial Officer des Unternehmens tätig. 

 

Moderation

Sven Langenau
Managing Director, AHK USA-Houston

 

Herr Langenau ist seit Juli 2013 für die AHK USA in Houston tätig und leitet seither den Bereich Consulting Services. Im November 2015 hat Herr Langenau als Managing Director die Leitung des Büros übernommen.

Nach dem Abschluss seines Studiums zum Dipl.-Ing. der Feinwerk- und elektronischen Gerätetechnik im Jahr 1998, war Herr Langenau bei global agierenden Unternehmen in den Bereichen Produktmanagement und Vertrieb als Abteilungs- und Niederlassungsleitung tätig.

© 2019 German American Chamber of Commerce of the Midwest, Inc.