top of page

 Workshop 

 Energy & Environmental Technologies 

Current developments show that climate change and renewable energies are high on the political agenda of the Obama Administration: In August 2015, the Clean Power Plan, the strictest regulations in the history of the USA, were passed to combat climate change and ensure a lasting transformation of the to bring about the American electricity industry.

 

The action plan presented by Obama envisages reducing carbon dioxide emissions from power plants in the United States by around a third with the help of environmental laws. This is the first time the government has stipulated nationwide binding targets for reducing CO2 emissions in the energy sector. As the New York Times calculates, this could mean the end of hundreds of coal-fired power plants and plans for new plants could be halted. Gas power plants that are less harmful to the climate and renewable energies such as wind power and solar would benefit. The share of renewable energies in electricity generation is set to increase from 22% to 28%. 

 

The action plan comes with the United States' approval of the Paris climate agreement, which limits global temperature rise to below 2 degrees.

 

The workshop on energy and environmental technology will show participants current trends in environmental and energy technology in the USA, the regulatory environment   and give an insight into the existing funding programs. German companies are shown the potential and market opportunities in the USA using innovative projects and specific examples.

Our speakers

dr Severin Becker

Founder and shareholder, Borderstep Institute for Innovation and Sustainability non-profit GmbH 

 

dr Severin Beucker has carried out numerous research projects as well as innovation and policy analyzes for German and international clients. He is particularly interested in researching innovation processes and networks in the energy sector. He has extensive methodical knowledge of the development of business models for new technologies and services. In addition to his work at Borderstep, he teaches at the Carl von Ossietzky University of Oldenburg and was a visiting researcher at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Severin Beucker maintains close ties to the USA, where he spent extensive years as an apprentice and traveler and where part of his family lives.

dr Stephen Hardt

Managing Partner, MeteoViva GmbH 

dr Stefan Hardt is the managing partner of MeteoViva GmbH. He is responsible for the implementation and operation of MeteoViva Climate as well as for software development. He is currently commuting between Germany and the USA to support the business development of MeteoViva Inc. Before MeteoViva, Stefan worked as Director Professional Services Central Europe at Sybase (today SAP), where he was responsible for the consulting and training area in DACH and BENELUX. 

Stefan has a Dr. in computer science from the University of Linz and a diploma in computer science from the RWTH Aachen University. He is married and has two children.

Florian Kolb

Managing Director, RWE New Ventures LLC

Florian Kolb has spent ten years of his career in the energy sector with a strong focus on mergers & acquisitions. At RWE, a leading pan-European energy group, he completed M&A transactions worth more than USD 10 billion. After taking over a Dutch company, Mr. Kolb was appointed managing director of the Dutch service company. In 2013 he was appointed to the Executive Board of RWE. Since 2015, Mr. Kolb has been the Managing Director responsible for RWE's activities in Silicon Valley. His focus is on the development and expansion of future, unconventional business activities in the USA. Florian Kolb holds a master's degree in economics  from the University of Passau.

Walter Lamparter

CEO, MICRODYN-NADIR Group

 

Walter Lamparter has been CEO of MICRODYN-NADIR since 2005. One of his main tasks here is to bring the company forward strategically and to develop existing and new markets for the high-quality membranes and modules. Since the acquisition by MANN+HUMMEL GmbH in 2014, he has also been active in his new role as Vice President of the Business Unit Water at MANN+HUMMEL and is therefore responsible for the water filtration and membrane activities of MANN+HUMMEL. Before joining MICRODYN-NADIR, he worked as Managing Director of Veolia Water Systems Deutschland GmbH and was responsible for the management of several companies in the water and wastewater treatment sector.

moderation

Rene van den Hoevel

Branch Manager, AHK USA-San Francisco

 

Since August 2010, Mr. van den Hövel has been head of the AHK USA-San Francisco and is responsible for the consulting and business development activities of the Chamber of Commerce Abroad on the west coast of the USA. Before working in San Francisco, he was head of the consulting department at the AHK headquarters in New York City. From 2007 to 2009 he was also the representative of Bremen Economic Development in the United States. 

Mr. van den Hövel joined the Chamber of Commerce Abroad in 2005 after working in the fields of social media and mobile marketing in Germany. He studied international marketing at the Münster University of Applied Sciences and at Juniata College in Pennsylvania, USA. Before his studies, Mr. van den Hövel completed an apprenticeship as an industrial clerk at Elefanten AG, a leading manufacturer of children's shoes.

 

bottom of page

Workshop 

 Energie & Umwelttechnologien 

Aktuelle Entwicklungen zeigen, dass Klimawandel und erneuerbare Energien weit oben auf der politischen Agenda der Obama Administration stehen: So wurden mit dem Clean Power Plan im August 2015 die strengsten Auflagen in der Geschichte der USA verabschiedet, um den Klimawandel zu bekämpfen und eine dauerhafte Transformation der amerikanischen Elektrizitätswirtschaft herbeizuführen.

 

Der von Obama vorgestellte Aktionsplan sieht mit Hilfe von Umweltgesetzen eine Absenkung des Kohlendioxidausstoßes von Kraftwerken in den Vereinigten Staaten um rund ein Drittel vor. Die Regierung schreibt damit erstmals landesweit verbindliche Ziele für die Reduzierung der CO2-Emissionen im Energiesektor vor. Wie die New York Times berechnet, dürfte dies für Hunderte Kohlekraftwerke das Ende bedeuten und Pläne für neue Anlagen dürften gestoppt werden. Profitieren würden weniger klimaschädliche Gaskraftwerke sowie erneuerbare Energien wie Windkraft und Solar. Der Anteil der erneuerbaren Energien an der Stromerzeugung soll von 22% auf 28% steigen. 

 

Der Aktionsplan geht mit der Zustimmung  der USA zum Pariser Klimaabkommen einher, welcher die weltweite Temperaturerhöhung auf unter 2 Grad begrenzt.

 

Der Workshop Energie und Umwelttechnologie wird den Teilnehmern aktuelle Trends für Umwelt- und Energietechnologie in den USA aufzeigen, das regulatorische Umfeld  darstellen und einen Einblick in die die vorhandenen Förderprogramme geben. An innovativen Projekten und konkreten Beispielen werden den deutschen Firmen die Potenziale und Marktchancen in den USA aufgezeigt.

Unsere Sprecher

Dr. Severin Beucker

Gründer und Gesellschafter, Borderstep Institut für Innovation und Nachhaltigkeit gemeinnützige GmbH 

 

Dr. Severin Beucker hat zahlreiche Forschungsprojekte sowie Innovations- und Politikanalysen für deutsche und internationale Auftraggeber durchgeführt. Sein besonderes Interesse gilt der Erforschung von Innovationsprozessen und -netzwerken im Energiesektor. Er verfügt über umfangreiche methodische Kenntnisse zur Entwicklung von Geschäftsmodellen neuer Technologien und Dienstleistungen. Neben seiner Tätigkeit bei Borderstep lehrt er an der Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg und war Visiting Researcher an der University of California, Santa Barbara. Severin Beucker unterhält enge Verbindungen in die USA wo er ausgedehnte Lehr- und Wanderjahre verbracht hat und ein Teil seiner Familie lebt.

Dr. Stefan Hardt

Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter, MeteoViva GmbH 

Dr. Stefan Hardt ist geschäftsführender Gesellschafter der MeteoViva GmbH. Er ist verantwortlich für Implementierung und Betrieb von MeteoViva Climate sowie für die Software-Entwicklung. Zur Zeit pendelt er zwischen Deutschland und USA, um den Geschäftsaufbau der MeteoViva Inc. zu unterstützen. Vor MeteoViva war Stefan als Director Professional Services Central Europe bei Sybase (heute SAP) tätig, wo er für den Consulting- und Schulungsbereich in DACH und BENELUX verantwortlich war. 

Stefan hat einen Dr. in Informatik der Universität Linz sowie ein Diplom in Informatik der RWTH Aachen. Er ist verheiratet und hat zwei Kinder.

Florian Kolb

Managing Director, RWE New Ventures LLC

Florian Kolb hat zehn Jahre seiner Karriere im Energiesektor verbracht mit einem starken Schwerpunkt auf Mergers & Acquisitions. Bei RWE, einem führenden europaweiten Energiekonzern, hat er M&A-Geschäfte von mehr als 10 Mrd. USD abgewickelt. Nach der Übernahme eines niederländischen Unternehmens, wurde Herr Kolb zum Geschäftsführer der niederländischen Service-Gesellschaft benannt. In 2013 wurde er in den Vorstand der RWE berufen. Seit 2015 ist Herr Kolb nun als Geschäftsführer für RWEs Aktivitäten im Silicon Valley zuständig. Sein Fokus liegt dabei auf dem Auf- und Ausbau zukünftiger, unkonventioneller Geschäftsaktivitäten in den USA. Florian Kolb hat einen Master in Wirtschaftswissenschaften  der Universität Passau.

Walter Lamparter

CEO, MICRODYN-NADIR Group

 

Walter Lamparter ist seit 2005 CEO bei MICRODYN-NADIR. Hier zählt es zu seinen Hauptaufgaben die Firma strategisch nach vorne zu bringen und existierende sowie neue Märkte für die qualitativ hochwertigen Membranen und Module zu entwickeln. Seit der Akquisition durch die MANN+HUMMEL GmbH in 2014 ist er ebenfalls in seiner neuen Rolle als Vice President der Business Unit Water von MANN+HUMMEL tätig und ist somit für die Wasserfiltrations-und Membranaktivitäten von MANN+HUMMEL verantwortlich. Vor seiner Zeit bei MICRODYN-NADIR arbeitete er als Geschäftsführer von Veolia Water Systems Deutschland GmbH und war verantwortlich für das Management einiger Firmen im Wasser- und Abwasserbehandlungsbereich.

Moderation

Rene van den Hövel

Zweigstellenleiter, AHK USA-San Francisco

 

Seit August 2010 ist Herr van den Hövel Leiter der AHK USA-San Francsico und verantwortlich für die Consulting und Business Development Aktivitäten der Auslandshandelskammer an der Westküste der USA. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in San Francisco war er Leiter der Consulting Abteilung am Hauptsitz der AHK in New York City. Von 2007 bis 2009 war er zudem Repräsentant der Wirtschaftsförderung Bremen in den Vereinigten Staaten. 

Herr van den Hövel schloss sich der Auslandshandelskammer im Jahr 2005 an, nachdem er in den  Bereichen Social Media und Mobile Marketing in Deutschland arbeitete. Er studierte internationales Marketing an der Fachhochschule Münster sowie am Juniata College in Pennsylvania, USA. Vor seinem Studium hat Herr van den Hövel eine Ausbildung als Industriekaufmann bei der Elefanten AG, einem führenden Hersteller von Kinderschuhen, abgeschlossen.

 

© 2019 German American Chamber of Commerce of the Midwest, Inc.