top of page

 Workshop Energy

While issues such as climate change, renewable energy and energy efficiency have gained prominence in recent years under the Obama administration, it remains to be seen how this industry will develop under the new US administration. The American Clean Energy and Security Act of 2009 (ACES) could not be passed due to opposition in the US Senate, so that energy issues are primarily driven by regulations at the state level.

 

States with progressive energy policies, such as California and New York, have set their own energy policy goals, which include reducing CO2 emissions, expanding energy production from renewable energy sources such as solar, wind, hydropower and biomass, and increasing the energy efficiency of buildings and infrastructure advance. 

 

The energy workshop is intended to show the participants current trends in energy technologies in the USA, present the regulatory environment and give an insight into the existing funding programs. Potential and market opportunities in the USA are shown to German companies using innovative projects and concrete examples.

speaker

Ekaterina Grigorieva

Advisor on energy and climate policy, Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie eV

Ekaterina Grigorjeva works as a consultant at the Federation of German Industries (BDI) in the energy and climate policy department. Energy research and international perspectives on energy and climate policy are the focus of her work. In her role at the BDI, she oversees an international cooperation project with acatech - National Academy of Science and Engineering "Ways to the future of energy". As part of this project, the energy strategies of various G20 countries are being examined, including those of the USA. Before joining the BDI, she worked at the Jacques Delors Institute in Berlin.  She was also employed by various E.ON SE companies and the German Bundestag. She holds a Bachelor of Science in International Business and Modern Languages from Aston University in Birmingham (UK) and a Master of Public Policy from the Hertie School of Governance in Berlin.

dr Stephen Hardt

Managing Director, MeteoViva GmbH

dr Stefan Hardt is the managing partner of MeteoViva GmbH. He is responsible for the implementation and operation of MeteoViva Climate as well as for software development. He is currently commuting between Germany and the USA to support the business development of MeteoViva Inc. Before MeteoViva, Stefan worked as Director Professional Services Central Europe at Sybase (today SAP), where he was responsible for the consulting and training area in DACH and BENELUX. Stefan has a Dr. in computer science from the University of Linz and a diploma in computer science from the RWTH Aachen. 

dr Hans Wilhelm Schiffer

Executive Chair World Energy Resources, World Energy Council

dr Hans-Wilhelm Schiffer is Executive Chair of the World Energy Resources Program at the World Energy Council, London. He has worked in various functions for the RWE Group for more than 20 years, most recently as Head of General Economic Policy/Science at RWE AG. He held this office until April 30, 2014. Since then he has worked as a consultant, particularly on issues relating to international energy policy. Furthermore, Mr. Schiffer is a lecturer for energy economics in various master's courses at the RWTH Aachen University and author of the book Energiemarkt Deutschland, the 14th edition of which was published in November 2016 as the 2017 yearbook.

Mr. Schiffer studied economics at the University of Cologne and at the Pennsylvania State University. After graduating with a degree in business administration, Mr. Schiffer worked as a research assistant at the Institute for Energy Economics at the University of Cologne and earned his doctorate in economics.

Robert Werner

Managing Director, Heindl Energy GmbH

Robert Werner is commercial director of Heindl Energy GmbH. The Stuttgart technology company is developing Gravity Storage, a concept for storing very large amounts of electricity in the GWh range. After studying geography and business administration, he worked as a consultant for energy taxes and energy policy, as a research assistant at the Faculty of Economics at the University of Mannheim and as a management consultant. From 2001 to 2011 he was a board member and managing director in the green electricity industry, responsible for electricity procurement and sales as well as the construction of wind, hydroelectric and solar power plants and their successful financing. In 2012 he co-founded the Hamburg Institute, a strategy and policy consultancy for the energy transition, of which he is still the managing partner today. Er has been active in the public debate on energy policy for over 20 years.

moderation

dr Jan Fritz Rettberg

Head of Innovation Management, ie³ Institute for Energy Systems, Energy Efficiency and Energy Economics, Technical University of Dortmund

dr Fritz Rettberg heads innovation management at ie³ and is responsible for projects on the energy transition, electromobility and future energy supply structures. He was in charge of developing the energy transition master plan for the city of Dortmund and is responsible for the Dortmund energy transition control center (LED). As part of the Smart City Dortmund alliance, he coordinates the involvement of stakeholders from industry, the municipality and municipal companies, science, associations and civil society. He also advises municipal utilities, utility companies, network operators, municipalities and municipal companies on the implementation of technology and investment projects for the energy transition, electromobility and Smart City.

bottom of page

Workshop Energie

Während Themen wie Klimawandel, erneuerbare Energien und Energieeffizienz in den letzten Jahren unter der Obama-Regierung an Bedeutung gewonnen haben, bleibt abzuwarten wie sich diese Industrie unter der neuen US-Regierung entwickelt. Der American Clean Energy and Security Act of 2009 (ACES) konnte aufgrund der Opposition im US-Senat nicht beschlossen werden, so dass Energiethemen vor allem durch Regulierungen auf bundesstaatlicher Ebene vorangetrieben werden.

 

Bundesstaaten mit progressiver Energiepolitik, wie z.B. Kalifornien und New York, haben eigene energiepolitische Ziele gesetzt, die die Reduzierung von CO2-Emissionen, die Ausweitung der Energiegewinnung aus erneuerbaren Energiequellen wie Solar, Wind, Wasserkraft und Biomasse sowie die Steigerung der Energieeffizienz von Gebäuden und Infrastruktur vorantreiben. 

 

Der Workshop Energie soll den Teilnehmern aktuelle Trends für Energietechnologien in den USA aufzeigen, das regulatorische Umfeld darstellen und einen Einblick in die vorhandenen Förderprogramme geben. An innovativen Projekten und konkreten Beispielen werden den deutschen Firmen Potenziale und Marktchancen in den USA aufgezeigt.

Sprecher

Jekaterina Grigorjeva

Referentin Energie- und Klimapolitik, Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie e.V.

Jekaterina Grigorjeva arbeitet als Referentin beim Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie e.V. (BDI) in der Abteilung Energie- und Klimapolitik. Energieforschung und internationale Perspektiven der Energie- und Klimapolitik bilden den Schwerpunkt ihrer Arbeit. In ihrer Rolle beim BDI betreut sie ein international angelegtes Kooperationsprojekt mit acatech – Nationale Akademie der Technikwissenschaften „Wege in die Energiezukunft“. Im Rahmen dieses Projektes werden Energiestrategien verschiedener G20 Länder untersucht, darunter die der USA. Vor ihrem Einstieg beim BDI arbeitete sie beim Jacques Delors Institut-Berlin. Außerdem war sie bei verschiedenen Gesellschaften der E.ON SE sowie dem Deutschen Bundestag beschäftigt. Sie hat den Bachelor of Science in International Business and Modern Languages von der Aston University in Birmingham (UK) und den Master of Public Policy von der Hertie School of Governance in Berlin.

Dr. Stefan Hardt

Managing Director, MeteoViva GmbH

Dr. Stefan Hardt ist geschäftsführender Gesellschafter der MeteoViva GmbH. Er ist verantwortlich für Implementierung und Betrieb von MeteoViva Climate sowie für die Software-Entwicklung. Zur Zeit pendelt er zwischen Deutschland und USA, um den Geschäftsaufbau der MeteoViva Inc. zu unterstützen. Vor MeteoViva war Stefan als Director Professional Services Central Europe bei Sybase (heute SAP) tätig, wo er für den Consulting- und Schulungsbereich in DACH und BENELUX verantwortlich war. Stefan hat einen Dr. in Informatik der Universität Linz sowie ein Diplom in Informatik der RWTH Aachen. 

Dr. Hans-Wilhelm Schiffer

Executive Chair World Energy Ressources, World Energy Council

Dr. Hans-Wilhelm Schiffer ist Executive Chair of the World Energy Resources Programme des World Energy Council, London. Er hat mehr als 20 Jahre in verschiedenen Funktionen für den RWE-Konzern gearbeitet, zuletzt als Leiter Allgemeine Wirtschaftspolitik/Wissenschaft der RWE AG. Dieses Amt nahm er bis zum 30. April 2014 wahr. Seitdem ist er als Berater insbesondere zu Themen der internationalen Energiepolitik tätig. Ferner ist Herr Schiffer Lehrbeauftragter für Energiewirtschaftslehre in verschiedenen Master-Studiengängen an der RWTH Aachen und Autor des Buches Energiemarkt Deutschland, das im November 2016 in 14. Auflage als Jahrbuch 2017 erschienen ist.

Herr Schiffer studierte Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Universität zu Köln und an der Pennsylvania State University. Nach dem Diplom-Kaufmann-Examen war Herr Schiffer Wissenschaftlicher Assistent am Energiewirtschaftlichen Institut der Universität zu Köln und promovierte in Volkswirtschaftslehre.

Robert Werner

Geschäftsführer, Heindl Energy GmbH

Robert Werner  ist kaufmännischer Geschäftsführer der Heindl Energy GmbH. Das Stuttgarter Technologieunternehmen entwickelt den Schwerkraftspeicher Gravity Storage, einem Konzept zur Speicherung sehr großer Strommengen im GWh-Bereich. Nach dem Studium der Geographie und Betriebswirtschaftslehre folgten beruflichen Tätigkeiten als Referent für Energiesteuern und Energiepolitik, als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Fakultät für Volkswirtschaftslehre der Universität Mannheim sowie als Unternehmensberater. Von 2001 bis 2011 war er in der Ökostrombranche als Vorstand und Geschäftsführer verantwortlich für Strombeschaffung und -vertrieb sowie den Bau von Wind- Wasser- und Solarkraftwerken und deren erfolgreiche Finanzierung. 2012 folgte die Mitgründung des Hamburg Instituts, einer Strategie- und Politikberatung für die Energiewende, dessen geschäftsführender Gesellschafter er bis heute ist. Er ist seit über 20 Jahren aktiv in der öffentlichen Diskussion über Energiepolitik.

Moderation

Dr. Jan Fritz Rettberg

Head of Innovation Management, ie³ Institut für Energiesysteme, Energieeffizienz und Energiewirtschaft, Technische Universität Dortmund

Dr. Fritz Rettberg leitet am ie³ das Innovationsmanagement und verantwortet Projekte zu Energiewende, Elektromobilität und zukünftigen Energieversorgungsstrukturen. Er hat den Masterplan Energiewende der Stadt Dortmund federführend erarbeitet und ist verantwortlich für die Leitstelle Energiewende Dortmund (L.E.D.) Im Rahmen der Allianz Smart City Dortmund koordiniert er die Einbindung von Stakeholdern aus Industrie, Kommune und kommunalen Unternehmen, Wissenschaft, Verbänden und Zivilgesellschaft. Er berät darüber hinaus Stadtwerke, Versorgungsunternehmen, Netzbetreiber, Kommunen und kommunale Unternehmen bei der Umsetzung von Technologie- und Beteiligungsprojekten zu Energiewende, Elektromobilität und Smart City.

© 2019 German American Chamber of Commerce of the Midwest, Inc.