top of page

 Future Report: Wirtschaft 4.0 

The American as well as the German economy are facing enormous, technology-driven changes. These affect the industrial sectors in particular, but also include the other economic sectors.

 

The large global digital corporations were founded in the United States. Germany seems to be lagging behind when it comes to digitization. But is that even true? And how far are German and American companies in digitization?

 

The digital transformation of processes promises numerous opportunities, such as an increase in efficiency or productivity. But simply because of the associated investments, there are also major risks associated with digitization. In the coming years it will be particularly important to skilfully weigh up opportunities and risks. The aim must be to find an entrepreneurial strategy that can deal with the great dynamics of digitization and use it to your advantage.

 

The "Future Report: Wirtschaft 4.0" is intended to discuss the current technological developments in the industry and beyond. In a changing environment, companies in Germany and in the USA have to actively develop in order to be successful in the future.

Our speaker

dr Vera Demary

Head of the Competence Field Structural Change and Competition, Institut der Deutschen Wirtschaft Köln eV

dr Vera Demary is head of the "Structural Change and Competition" competence field at the Cologne Institute for Economic Research (IW). Vera Demary's work focuses on microeconomic research on topics at the interface between industrial economics and digitization. Vera Demary has been with IW Cologne since 2009 and has already worked there on various topics. These include the innovation economy, shortage of skilled workers and vocational training. Vera Demary studied economics at the University of Paderborn, the Memorial University of Newfoundland and the Erasmus University in Rotterdam. Between 2005 and 2008 she worked as a research assistant at the Department of Political Science at the University of Cologne, where she received her doctorate in 2008.

bottom of page

Future Report: Wirtschaft 4.0 

Die amerikanische wie auch die deutsche Wirtschaft stehen vor enormen, technologiegetriebenen Veränderungen. Diese betreffen insbesondere die Industriebranchen, umfassen aber auch die übrigen Wirtschaftssektoren.

 

Die großen, weltweit agierenden Digitalkonzerne wurden in den Vereinigten Staaten gegründet. Deutschland scheint bei der Digitalisierung zurückzuliegen. Aber stimmt das überhaupt? Und wie weit sind deutsche und amerikanische Unternehmen bei der Digitalisierung?

 

Die digitale Transformation von Prozessen verspricht zahlreiche Chancen, wie eine Steigerung von Effizienz oder Produktivität. Aber allein aufgrund der damit verbundenen Investitionen sind auch große Risiken mit Digitalisierung verbunden. In den nächsten Jahren kommt es besonders darauf an, Chancen und Risiken gekonnt gegeneinander abzuwägen. Ziel muss es sein, eine unternehmerische Strategie zu finden, mit der großen Dynamik der Digitalisierung umgehen zu können und sie für sich zu nutzen.

 

Der „Future Report: Wirtschaft 4.0“ soll die aktuellen technologischen Entwicklungen in der Industrie und darüber hinaus erörtern. In einem sich wandelnden Umfeld müssen sich Unternehmen in Deutschland wie in den USA aktiv weiterentwickeln, um auch zukünftig erfolgreich sein zu können.

Unsere Sprecherin

Dr. Vera Demary

Leiterin des Kompetenzfelds Strukturwandel und Wettbewerb, Institut der deutschen Wirtschaft Köln e.V.

Dr. Vera Demary ist Leiterin des Kompetenzfeldes „Strukturwandel und Wettbewerb“ beim Institut der deutschen Wirtschaft (IW) Köln. Schwerpunkt der Tätigkeit von Vera Demary ist mikroökonomische Forschung zu Themen an der Schnittstelle zwischen Industrieökonomik und Digitalisierung. Vera Demary ist seit 2009 beim IW Köln beschäftigt und hat dort schon zu verschiedenen Themen gearbeitet. Dazu zählen unter anderem Innovationsökonomie, Fachkräfteengpässe und berufliche Bildung. Vera Demary hat an der Universität Paderborn, der Memorial University of Newfoundland und der Erasmus Universität Rotterdam Volkswirtschaftslehre studiert. Zwischen 2005 und 2008 war sie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Staatswissenschaftlichen Seminar der Universität zu Köln beschäftigt und promovierte dort im Jahr 2008.

© 2019 German American Chamber of Commerce of the Midwest, Inc.