top of page

 Workshop 

 Sales strategies & sales structure 

For many small and medium-sized German companies, entering the market and building up sales in a new country is a major challenge. Many companies often reach their limits, as little knowledge and experience of the market, a lack of human and financial resources as well as language or cultural barriers make it difficult to develop complicate new market.

 

For successful processing of the US market, it is therefore crucial to know the differences between German and American sales strategies and sales channels and to take them into account in your own corporate strategy. Topics such as cooperation partners, customer service and customer care as well as spare parts delivery and after-sales service should be taken into account. Country-specific customization, from marketing materials through to the conduct of sales calls, is also an important part of the strategy.

 

The selection of the right sales channel - from sales representatives or distributors to your own sales representative - often differs from the German model and must be structured accordingly.

Speakers of the workshop are sales managers and managing directors of German companies in the USA that have set up US sales. The workshop on sales strategies and sales development is intended to help companies to prepare comprehensively for the various steps involved in sales development in the USA.

Our speakers

Rainer Aits

Managing Director, P3 group

 

Rainer Aits has been Managing Director of P3 automotive GmbH since 2009 and a member of the Board of Directors of P3 North America Lt. In the P3 GROUP he is responsible for the automotive industry with the consulting focus on operations excellence, I 4.0, supplier empowerment and restructuring. Before his current position, Mr. Aits gained years of experience in international consulting for leading OEMs and suppliers in the automotive industry and in mechanical and plant engineering. Mr. Aits began his career at the Fraunhofer Institute for Manufacturing Engineering and Automation -IPA- in Stuttgart. There he mainly dealt with projects on production, logistics optimization and change management in medium-sized companies.

dr Friedrich-Hans Grandin

Managing shareholder, HUESKER Holding GmbH

dr Friedrich-Hans Grandin has been Managing Director of the HUESKER Group since November 2012 and joined the group of shareholders of HUESKER Holding GmbH in July 2015. First professional positions took him to Brazil and the USA, among other places. dr Grandin gained industrial experience in the steel industry, in mechanical engineering and in the metalworking industry.Vor seinem Wechsel zu HUESKER war er President & CEO von Komet of America, Inc. in the greater Chicago area. Dr. Grandin has a diploma in mechanical engineering and a PhD in metallurgy from RWTH Aachen; er ist Honorary member of the board of directors of the AHK USA-Chicago and member of the foreign trade committee of the IHK Münster.

Christopher Petri

Regional Manager, Weishaupt America Inc. - South East Location

Christoph Petri has been working for Weishaupt America Inc., a subsidiary of Max Weishaupt GmbH, in the USA for ten years. After completing the master craftsman's examination in 2000, he gained further experience in the heating, air conditioning and ventilation sector in the USA and Germany Weishaupt subsidiary in Chicago, IL. Since 2014 he has managed Weishaupt America Inc.'s newest subsidiary in Atlanta, GA and is responsible for sales development, customer service and technical processing in the southeastern United States.

Werner Streich
Head of Mechatronic Sales, 
Business Development, SCHAEFFLER Engineering GmbH

After studying automotive engineering in Hamburg, Mr. Streich worked for AMG as a vehicle manager in motorsport for well-known racing drivers such as Bernd Schneider and Dario Franchitti. In 1996, motorsport brought Mr. Streich to the USA. California and Indianapolis were the main stations. Through the motor sport activities, Mr. Streich grew into technical sales and customer support. In 2004 he ended his motorsport activities and took over the management of Schaeffler-Engineering USA's automotive branch in Detroit, MI. Mr. Streich has German and US citizenship and he currently heads the Schaeffler Engineering office in Nuremberg and continues to oversee the US business.

moderation

Mark Tomkins

Managing Director, AHK USA-Chicago

Mark Tomkins has been working for the AHK USA-Chicago since 2006 and has already supported a large number of German companies from different industries with their market entry in the USA with his team. He has been the managing director of the AHK since May 2015 and a member of the board since 2009. During his tenure at the AHK, he played a leading role in developing the Skills Initiative, which supports companies and public institutions in introducing German dual training structures, including programs such as ICATT and CICES in Illinois, MAT2 in Michigan and KY FAME in Kentucky. Before joining AHK, Mr. Tomkins was active in business development consulting for more than ten years and advised international companies on the establishment of strategic alliances and long-term cooperation.

bottom of page

Workshop 

 Vertriebsstrategien & Vertriebsaufbau 

Für viele kleine und mittelständische deutsche Unternehmen stellt der Markteintritt und Vertriebsaufbau in einem neuen Land eine große Herausforderung dar. Viele Firmen stoßen oft an ihre Grenzen, da die geringe Marktkenntnis und -erfahrung, fehlende personelle und finanzielle Resourcen sowie sprachliche oder kulturelle Barrieren die Erschließung des neuen Marktes erschweren.

 

Für eine erfolgreiche Bearbeitung des US-Marktes ist es daher entscheidend, die Unterschiede zwischen deutschen und amerikanischen Vertriebsstrategien und Vertriebskanälen zu kennen und in der eigenen Unternehmensstrategie zu berücksichtigen. Themen wie Kooperationspartner, Kundendienst und Kundenbetreuung sowie Ersatzteillieferung und After-Sales Service sollten Berücksichtigung finden. Auch die landesspezifische Anpassung, angefangen von Marketingmaterialien bis hin zum Ablauf von Vertriebsgesprächen, ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Strategie.

 

Die Auswahl des richtigen Vertriebskanals – vom Handelsvertreter oder Distributoren bis zum eigenen Vertriebsmitarbeiter – weicht oft vom deutschen Modell ab und muss entsprechend aufgebaut werden.

Sprecher des Workshops sind Vertriebsleiter und Geschäftsführer von deutschen Unternehmen in den USA, die den US-Vertrieb aufgebaut haben.Der Workshop Vertriebsstrategien und Vertriebsaufbau soll Unternehmen dabei helfen sich umfassend auf die verschiedenen Schritte, die der Vertriebsaufbau in den USA mit sich bringt, vorzubereiten.

Unsere Sprecher

Rainer Aits

Managing Director, P3 group

 

Seit 2009 ist Rainer Aits Geschäftsführer der P3 automotive GmbH und im Board of Directors der P3 North America Lt. In der P3 GROUP ist er für die Automobilbranche mit den Beratungsschwerpunkten Operations Excellence, I 4.0, Lieferantenbefähigung und Re-Strukturierung verantwortlich. Vor seiner derzeitigen Stelle sammelte Herr Aits jahrelang Erfahrung in internationaler Beratung führender OEMs und Zulieferer in der Automobilindustrie und im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau. Herr Aits begann seine Karriere am Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionstechnik und Automatisierung -IPA- in Stuttgart. Dort hat er sich vor allem mit Projekten zu Produktion, Logistikoptimierung und Änderungsmanagement im Mittelstand beschäftigt.

Dr. Friedrich-Hans Grandin

Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter, HUESKER Holding GmbH

Dr. Friedrich-Hans Grandin leitet seit November 2012 als Geschäftsführer die HUESKER Gruppe und trat im Juli 2015 in den Gesellschafterkreis der HUESKER Holding GmbH ein. Erste berufliche Stationen führten ihn unter anderem nach Brasilien und in die USA. Dr. Grandin sammelte Industrieerfahrungen in der Stahlindustrie, im Maschinenbau und in der metallverarbeitenden Industrie. Vor seinem Wechsel zu HUESKER war er President & CEO von Komet of America, Inc. im Großraum Chicago. Dr. Grandin hat einen Diplom-Abschluss in Maschinenbau und einen Doktor in Metallurgie der RWTH Aachen; er ist Ehrenmitglied im Vorstand der AHK USA-Chicago und Mitglied des Außenwirtschaftsausschusses der IHK Münster.

Christoph Petri

Regional Manager, Weishaupt America Inc. - South East Location

Christoph Petri ist seit zehn Jahren für Weishaupt America Inc., einer Tochtergesellschaft der Max Weishaupt GmbH, in den USA tätig. Nach dem Abschluss der Meisterprüfung im Handwerk im Jahre 2000, sammelte er weitere Erfahrungen im Heizungs-, Klima- und Lüftungs-Bereich in den USA und Deutschland. Von 2007-2014 war er als Vertriebsleiter am Aufbau der Weishaupt Tochter-Gesellschaft in Chicago, IL beteiligt. Seit 2014 leitet er nun Weishaupt America Inc.'s neueste Tochter Gesellschaft in Atlanta, GA und ist für den Vertriebsaufbau, Kundendienst und für die technische Abwicklung im Süd Osten der Vereinigten Staaten zuständig.

Werner Streich
Leiter Mechatronic Sales, 
Business Development, SCHAEFFLER Engineering GmbH

Nach einem Fahrzeugtechnik Studium im Hamburg arbeitete Herr Streich bei der Fa. AMG als Fahrzeugleiter im Motorsport für namhafte Rennfahrer wie Bernd Schneider und Dario Franchitti. Im Jahr 1996 hat der Motorsport Herrn Streich in die USA gebracht. Kalifornien und Indianapolis waren hierbei die wesentlichen Stationen. Über die Motorsport Aktivitäten wuchs Herr Streich in den Technischen Vertrieb und Kunden Support. In 2004 beendete er seine Motorsport Aktivitäten und übernahm die Leitung der Schaeffler-Engineering USA Geschäftsstelle im Automotive Bereich in Detroit, MI. Herr Streich besitzt die Deutsche und US Staatsbürgerschaft und er leitet derzeit die Schaeffler Engineering Geschäftsstelle in Nürnberg und betreut weiterhin das USA Geschäft.

Moderation

Mark Tomkins

Geschäftsführer, AHK USA-Chicago

Mark Tomkins ist seit 2006 für die AHK USA-Chicago tätig und hat mit seinem Team bereits eine Vielzahl deutscher Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichen Branchen beim Markteinstieg in die USA unterstützt. Seit Mai 2015 ist er Geschäftsführer der AHK und seit 2009 Mitglied des Vorstands. Während seiner Tätigkeit bei der AHK war er federführend in der Entwicklung der Skills Initiative, die Unternehmen und öffentliche Einrichtungen bei der Einführung von deutschen dualen Ausbildungsstrukturen unterstützt, darunter Programme wie ICATT und CICESS in Illinois, MAT2 in Michigan und KY FAME in Kentucky, beteiligt. Vor seiner Zeit bei der AHK war Herr Tomkins mehr als zehn Jahre im Bereich Business Development Consulting aktiv und hat internationale Unternehmen beim Aufbau strategischer Allianzen und langfristiger Kooperationen beraten.

© 2019 German American Chamber of Commerce of the Midwest, Inc.