top of page

 Workshop Transatlantic Relations 

The opening panel of the German-American Business Day deals with the current status of transatlantic economic relations. Experienced experts and successful company representatives will discuss their perspectives as part of the opening panel.

The focus of the discussion is the interdependence of the US economy with the German economy as well as current political and economic developments after the US election.  Common future topics such as climate protection, energy and cyber security should also be discussed.

The audience learns background information first-hand. The panelists from both countries introduce topics that can be taken up again and dealt with in more detail in the following workshops.

Our speakers

Thomas hostage

Lord Mayor, state capital Düsseldorf

Thomas Geisel has been mayor of the state capital of North Rhine-Westphalia since September 2nd, 2014. Born in Swabia, he studied law and political science in Freiburg and Geneva and holds several degrees (1988 Master of Arts (politics) at Georgetown University in Washington, DC; 1990 1st state law examination in Freiburg; 1992 Master in Public Administration at Harvard University ). At the same time, Thomas Geisel started in 1990 as a legal advisor to the SPD parliamentary group in the People's Chamber of the GDR, then became personal advisor to the then SPD federal manager Karlheinz Blessing in Bonn. In 1994 he passed the major state examination in law in Berlin. He was then a consultant and, from 1995, head of the contract management department at the Treuhandanstalt and the subsequent Federal Agency for Unification-Related Special Tasks (BvS). In 2000 he took over the position of Natural Gas Purchasing Director at E.ON Ruhrgas in Essen. In 2013 he was admitted as an independent lawyer.

Michael R. Keller​

US Consul General, Consulate General Düsseldorf

Michael R. Keller has been US Consul General in Düsseldorf since August 2015, having previously headed the Economics Department at the US Embassy in Paris from 2012-2015. He joined the United States diplomatic service in 1992 and during his diplomatic career focused primarily on economic issues. He worked at the US State Department from 1997-1998 in the crisis center and from 1998-2000 as an officer in the policy department in the Japan desk. From 2002-2005 he worked as an Associate in the Economics Department at the US Embassy in Phnom Penh, Cambodia and from 2005-2008 at the US Embassy in Santiago, Chile.

Michael Keller holds a BA with honors in International Relations and German, which he earned as Phi BetaKappa from the College of William and Mary at Williamsburg, Virginia.

dr Walter Maisel, President & CEO, KOSTAL North America, Inc., Chairman of the Board of Directors of GACC Midwest and Chairman & President of GACC Midwest's Michigan Chapter

dr Walter Maisel is President and CEO of KOSTAL North America, one of the leading automotive suppliers in the USA, specializing in the development and production of complex electronic and electromechanical components. Before joining KOSTAL North America, he was Executive Vice President of Magna International. During his 15 years at Siemens and Siemens VDO, he held various management positions. dr Maisel started his professional career at Praxis Electronics, a UK software company and engineering service provider specializing in safety-related software. 

dr Lutz Raettig

Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Morgan Stanley Bank AG

After studying business administration in Hamburg and earning a doctorate (Dr. re. pole. in 1969 dr. Lutz Raettig has held a variety of positions in the banking industry. In September 1995 he joined Morgan Stanley Bank AG in Frankfurt as Managing Director and was Chairman of the Board of Management of Morgan Stanley Bank AG and Country Head for Germany and Austria until February 2005. Since 2002 he has also been Vice Chairman Morgan Stanley Europe. dr Raettig was a director of Morgan Stanley International Ltd and was a member of the board of directors of Morgan Stanley Bank International Ltd London.

before dr Raettig came to Morgan Stanley after working for Commerzbank and Westdeutsche Landesbank (WestLB) at various locations in Germany, London and New York for 26 years.

Frank Sportolari

President, UPS Germany & Vice President, American Chamber of Commerce in Germany eV

Frank Sportolari has been the President of UPS Germany since 2011, where he is responsible for all operations, strategy and business development in UPS's largest non-US market with over 19,000 employees. He  has spent all 30 years of his career at UPS in Europe. In 1986 he started as a trainee in the Finance & Accounting department in Munich. He then held various positions with increasing responsibility in Finance & Accounting, including as Controller in Munich, Cologne and Neuss for UPS Germany. He has also worked in this area in Spain/Portugal, Italy and at the European Headquarters in Brussels, Belgium. From 2004 to 2006 he was Vice President of Strategy UPS Europe, also in Brussels. Before joining UPS, Frank worked for the US Department of Defense in Germany for six years. He is currently Deputy Chairman of the German-American Chamber of Commerce.

moderation

Andrew Kluth

Editor-in-Chief, Handelsblatt Global

Andreas Kluth has been Editor-in-Chief of Handelsblatt Global, the English-speaking part of the Handelsblatt Group, since March. Before that he was a correspondent for The Economist for 20 years – in London, Hong Kong, Silicon Valley, Los Angeles and Berlin. A native of New York, he received his bachelor's degree from Williams College in Massachusetts and his master's degree from the London School of Economics. He is the author of Hannibal and Me.

bottom of page

Workshop Transatlantische Beziehungen 

Das Eröffnungspanel des Deutsch-Amerikanischen Wirtschaftstags beschäftigt sich mit dem aktuellen Stand der transatlantischen Wirtschaftsbeziehungen. Erfahrene Experten und erfolgreiche Unternehmensvertreter werden im Rahmen des Eröffnungspanels ihre Perspektiven diskutieren.

Im Mittelpunkt der Diskussion steht die Verflechtung der US-Wirtschaft mit der deutschen Wirtschaft sowie aktuelle politische und wirtschaftliche Entwicklungen nach der US-Wahl.  Gemeinsame Zukunftsthemen wie Klimaschutz, Energie- und Cyber-Sicherheit sollen ebenfalls diskutiert werden.

Das Publikum erfährt dabei Hintergrundinformationen aus erster Hand. Die Panelisten beider Länder führen in Thematiken ein, die in den nachfolgenden Workshops noch einmal aufgegriffen und detaillierter behandelt werden können.

Unsere Sprecher

Thomas Geisel

Oberbürgermeister, Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf

Thomas Geisel ist seit dem 2. September 2014 Oberbürgermeister der NRW-Landeshauptstadt. Der gebürtige Schwabe studierte in Freiburg und Genf Rechts- und Politikwissenschaften und hat mehrere Abschlüsse (1988 Master of Arts (Politik) an der Georgetown Universität in Washington, DC; 1990 1. juristische Staatsprüfung in Freiburg; 1992 Master in Public Administration an der Harvard University). Parallel startete Thomas Geisel 1990 als juristischer Referent der SPD-Fraktion in der Volkskammer der DDR, wurde dann persönlicher Referent des damaligen SPD-Bundesgeschäftsführers Karlheinz Blessing in Bonn. 1994 legte er die große juristische Staatsprüfung in Berlin ab. Anschließend war er Referent und ab 1995 Abteilungsleiter Vertragsmanagement bei der Treuhandanstalt bzw. der nachfolgenden Bundesanstalt für vereinigungsbedingte Sonderaufgaben (BvS). Im Jahr 2000 übernahm er die Position eines Erdgaseinkaufsdirektors bei der E.ON Ruhrgas in Essen. 2013 erfolgte die Zulassung als selbstständiger Rechtsanwalt.

Michael R. Keller​

US-Generalkonsul, Generalkonsulat Düsseldorf

Michael R. Keller ist seit August 2015 US-Generalkonsul in Düsseldorf, nachdem er zuvor von 2012-2015 die Wirtschaftsabteilung der US-Botschaft in Paris geleitet hat. Er ist 1992 in den diplomatischen Dienst der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika eingetreten und hat sich während seiner diplomatischen Laufbahn primär auf Wirtschaftsfragen spezialisiert. Im US-Außenministerium arbeitete er von 1997-1998 im Krisenzentrum und von 1998-2000 als Mitarbeiter der politischen Abteilung im Länderreferat Japan. Von 2002-2005 arbeitete er als Mitarbeiter der Wirtschaftsabteilung an der US-Botschaft in Phnom Penh in Kambodscha und von 2005-2008 an der US-Botschaft Santiago in Chile.

Michael Keller hat einen BA mit Auszeichnung im Bereich Internationale Beziehungen und Deutsch, den er als Phi Beta Kappa vom College of William and Mary in Williamsburg in Virginia, erworben hat.

Dr. Walter Maisel, President & CEO, KOSTAL North America, Inc., Chairman of the Board of Directors of GACC Midwest and Chairman & President of GACC Midwest’s Michigan Chapter

Dr. Walter Maisel ist President und CEO von KOSTAL North America, einem der führenden Automobilzulieferer in den USA, spezialisiert auf die Entwicklung und Produktion von komplexen elektronischen und elektromechanischen Bauteilen. Vor seinem Wechsel zu KOSTAL North America war er Executive Vice President von Magna International. Während seiner 15-jährigen Tätigkeit für Siemens und Siemens VDO hatte er unterschiedliche Führungspositionen inne. Dr. Maisel startete seine professionelle Laufbahn bei Praxis Electronics, einem britischen Softwareunternehmen und Ingenieursdienstleister, spezialisiert auf sicherheitsrelevante Software. 

Dr. Lutz Raettig

Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats, Morgan Stanley Bank AG

Nach dem Studium der Betriebswirtschaft in Hamburg und der Promotion zum Dr. rer. pol. im Jahr 1969 hat Dr. Lutz Raettig eine Vielzahl von Positionen in der Bankenbranche bekleidet. Im September 1995 kam er als Managing Director zur Morgan Stanley Bank AG in Frankfurt und war bis Februar 2005 Vorstandsvorsitzender der Morgan Stanley Bank AG und Country Head für Deutschland und Österreich, seit 2002 auch Vice Chairman Morgan Stanley Europe. Dr. Raettig war Direktor der Morgan Stanley International Ltd und war Mitglied des Aufsichtsrates der Morgan Stanley Bank International Ltd London.

Bevor Dr. Raettig zu Morgan Stanley kam, arbeitete er 26 Jahre für die Commerzbank und die Westdeutsche Landesbank (WestLB) an verschiedenen Standorten in Deutschland, in London und in New York.

Frank Sportolari

President, UPS Germany & Vice President, American Chamber of Commerce in Germany e.V.

Frank Sportolari ist seit 2011 der Vorsitzende von UPS Deutschland, wo er für alle Operationen, Strategie und Business Development im größten Markt von UPS außerhalb der USA mit über 19.000 Beschäftigten verantwortlich ist. Er hat alle 30 Jahre seiner Karriere bei UPS in Europa verbracht. 1986 fing er als Trainee im Bereich Finance & Accounting in München an. Er hatte dann verschiedene Positionen mit wachsenden Verantwortungen in Finance & Accounting inne, unter anderem als Controller in München, Köln und Neuss für UPS Deutschland. In diesem Bereich war er auch in Spanien/Portugal, Italien und im europäischen Hauptsitz in Brüssel, Belgien, tätig. Von 2004 bis 2006 war er Vice President of Strategy UPS Europe, auch in Brüssel. Bevor er zu UPS kam, arbeitete Frank sechs Jahre für das US-Verteidigungsministerium in Deutschland. Aktuell ist er stellvertretender Vorsitzender der Deutsch-Amerikanischen Handelskammer.

Moderation

Andreas Kluth

Chefredakteur, Handelsblatt Global

Seit März ist Andreas Kluth Chefredakteur von Handelsblatt Global, dem Englisch-sprachigen Teil der Handelsblatt Gruppe. Davor war er 20 Jahre lang Korrespondent für The Economist – in London, Hong Kong, Silicon Valley, Los Angeles und Berlin. Er ist gebürtiger New Yorker, hat seinen Bachelor vom Williams College in Massachusetts und seinen Master von der London School of Economics. Er ist Autor von “Hannibal and Me”.

© 2019 German American Chamber of Commerce of the Midwest, Inc.