top of page

 Workshop The old guy & the new guys 

Young companies and start-ups are indispensable for the German economy. Relevant innovations are increasingly being driven by start-ups, especially in the future fields of the Internet of Things (IoT) and Industry 4.0.

 

In the USA, the symbiosis between companies and founders has been practiced successfully for many years. Start-ups receive capital from corporate VCs, among others, and are thus tied to the company. If the product is relevant for the company, the start-up is often bought and the founders who developed the technology are taken over. In addition, it is much easier to gain access to companies in the USA, for example to carry out initial pilot projects with companies. As a founder, you can test your technology at an early stage and receive references from well-known large companies. In return, the companies receive early access to new technologies and, in the best case, even a competitive advantage.

 

German companies have tried to follow this example in recent years. Not only in Silicon Valley are more and more companies opening branch offices to look for technologies and innovations for the German parent company. In Germany, more and more companies are forming independent, dynamic and flexible units in order to become more interesting for start-ups and to prevent innovations from bogging down in a company's bureaucracy. Cooperation between companies and founders, especially in the digital age, can and should promote innovation.

 

What can German companies learn from the USA and how do German start-ups manage to work effectively with German companies? How can companies benefit from start-ups and use new innovations for their businesses? What are the needs of German companies and which cooperation strategies have proven successful? These questions will be examined in the "Start-ups 4.0" workshop.

Our speakers

Konrad Augustine

Investment Director & Head of E.ON SCI US, E.ON Innovation / Strategic Co-Investments

Konrad Augustin heads the US office of Strategic Co-Investments (SCI), the venture capital arm of E.ON. He invests in start-up companies whose technologies are used in E.ON markets, with a focus on customer solutions, energy networks and renewable energies. He has invested in a variety of companies including Autogrid, Greensmith, Enervee and Thermondo and holds a number of board memberships. Before he went to San Francisco, he helped set up SCI in Germany. Before joining E.ON, he worked at BASF Venture Capital, before that in Strategic Marketing and Corporate Auditing at BASF, where he worked in Australia, Japan and Singapore, among other places. He studied business administration in Regensburg and Storrs, Connecticut.

Amadeo Gaigl

CEO and Co-Founder, Bohème Digital GmbH

Amadeo Gaigl is an entrepreneur and founder. Before making a name for himself in the field of media tech, he worked as a consultant for international clients and NGOs, after having managed the international partner network for the UN as project coordinator for several years. The mission of the startup Bohème is to digitally transform inspiring places, such as the Viennese coffee house with its reading culture. For a basic monthly fee, cafés can provide their guests with free content from strong brands such as the Süddeutsche Zeitung or the Red Bull Media House in the Bohème app and the guests with inspiring stories provide for the day.

Prof. Dr. Christian Henry

CFO, scoutbee GmbH 

 

scoutbee is a cloud-based B2B supplier-buyer platform that supports modern buyers and production planners with intelligent search algorithms, dynamic data and easy-to-use collaboration tools in identifying, securing and evaluating suppliers and entire value chains. On the basis of artificial intelligence, the scoutbee technology Artimis examines customer-supplier relationships, disruptions and delivery problems in entire industries.

 

Maximilian P. Wagner

CEO, SMS digital

 

Maximilian Wagner (CEO SMS digital) is responsible for setting up the digital start-up of the SMS group. After studying International Business in Maastricht and at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, he joined the former ThyssenKrupp Stainless (now Outokumpu) in the Improvement Programs/Investments department. 5 years and several positions later, in 2013 he went to the corporate development of the SMS group. While working on several service-related projects, he formed a team with some colleagues in 2015 that focused on digitization. Eventually, the project work led to the establishment of SMS digital as an independent company responsible for delivering digital solutions to SMS group customers.

moderation

Rene van den Hoevel

Branch Manager, AHK USA-San Francisco

 

Since August 2010, Mr. van den Hövel has been head of the AHK USA-San Francisco and is responsible for the consulting and business development activities of the Chamber of Commerce Abroad on the west coast of the USA. Before working in San Francisco, he was head of the consulting department at the AHK headquarters in New York City. From 2007 to 2009 he was also the representative of Bremen Economic Development in the United States. 

Mr. van den Hövel joined the Chamber of Commerce Abroad in 2005 after working in the fields of social media and mobile marketing in Germany. He studied international marketing at the Münster University of Applied Sciences and at Juniata College in Pennsylvania, USA. Before his studies, Mr. van den Hövel completed an apprenticeship as an industrial clerk at Elefanten AG, a leading manufacturer of children's shoes.

 

bottom of page

Workshop The old guy & the new guys 

Junge Unternehmen und Start-ups sind für die deutsche Wirtschaft unverzichtbar. Relevante Innovationen werden immer öfter von Start-ups vorangetrieben, insbesondere in den Zukunftsfeldern Internet of Things (IoT) und Industrie 4.0.

 

In den USA wird die Symbiose zwischen Unternehmen und Gründern seit vielen Jahren erfolgreich praktiziert. Start-ups erhalten u.a. von Corporate VCs Kapital und werden so an die Unternehmen gebunden. Ist das Produkt für das Unternehmen relevant, wird das Start-up oftmals gekauft und die Gründer übernommen, welche die Technologie entwickelt haben. Zudem ist es in den USA um einiges einfacher einen Zugang zu Firmen zu erhalten, um z.B. erste Pilotprojekte bei Unternehmen durchzuführen. Als Gründer kann man so frühzeitig seine Technologie testen und erhält Referenzen von namenhaften Großunternehmen. Die Unternehmen erhalten im Gegenzug frühzeitig Zugang zu neuen Technologien und im besten Fall sogar einen Wettbewerbsvorteil.

 

Deutsche Unternehmen versuchen in den letzten Jahren diesem Beispiel zu folgen. Nicht nur im Silicon Valley eröffnen immer mehr Firmen eine Außenstelle, um nach Technologien und Innovationen für die deutsche Mutter zu suchen. In Deutschland bilden immer mehr Firmen eigenständige, dynamische und flexible Einheiten, um interessanter für Start-ups zu werden und um zu vermeiden, dass Innovationen in der Bürokratie eines Unternehmens versanden. Die Zusammenarbeit von Unternehmen und Gründern gerade im digitalen Zeitalter kann und sollte Innovation fördern.

 

Was können deutsche Firmen von den USA lernen, und wie schaffen es deutsche Start-ups effektiv mit deutschen Firmen zu arbeiten? Wie können Unternehmen von Start-ups profitieren und neue Innovation für ihre Geschäfte nutzen? Welcher Bedarf herrscht bei deutschen Unternehmen und welche Strategien der Zusammenarbeit hat sich bewährt? Diese Fragestellungen werden im Workshop „Start-ups 4.0“ beleuchtet.

Unsere Sprecher

Konrad Augustin

Investment Director & Head of E.ON SCI US, E.ON Innovation / Strategic Co-Investments

Konrad Augustin leitet das US Büro von Strategic Co-Investments (SCI), dem Venture Capital Arm der E.ON. Er investiert in Start-Up Unternehmen, deren Technologien in E.ON Märkten zum Einsatz kommen, wobei die Bereiche Kundenlösungen, Energienetzwerke und erneuerbare Energien im Fokus stehen. Er hat in eine Vielzahl Unternehmen investiert, u.a. Autogrid, Greensmith, Enervee und Thermondo und hält einige Vorstandsmandate. Bevor er nach San Francisco ging, hat er SCI in Deutschland mitaufgebaut. Vor seiner Zeit bei E.ON war er bei BASF Venture Capital, davor im Strategischen Marketing und in der Konzernrevision der BASF, wo er u.a. in Australien, Japan und Singapur arbeitete. Er hat BWL in Regensburg und Storrs, Connecticut studiert.

Amadeo Gaigl

CEO und Co-Founder, Bohème Digital GmbH

Amadeo Gaigl ist Unternehmer und Gründer. Bevor er sich im Bereich Media Tech einen Namen gemacht hat, war er beratend für internationale Kunden und NGOs tätig, nachdem er mehrere Jahre als Projektkoordinator das internationale Partnernetzwerk für die UN geleitet hat. Die Mission von dem Startup Bohème ist es inspirierende Orte, wie das Wiener Kaffeehaus mit seiner Lesekultur, digital zu transformieren. So können Cafés ihren Kunden für eine monatliche Grundgebühr ihren Gästen Paid-Inhalte von starken Marken wie der Süddeutschen Zeitung oder dem Red Bull Media House, kostenlos in der Bohème-App zur Verfügung stellen und die Gäste mit inspirierenden Stories für den Tag versorgen.

Prof. Dr. Christian Heinrich

CFO, scoutbee GmbH 

 

scoutbee ist eine cloud-basierte B2B-Lieferanten-Einkäufer-Plattform, die den modernen Einkäufer und Produktionsplaner mit intelligenten Such-Algorithmen, Dynamic Data und einfach bedienbaren Kollaborationstools bei der Identifizierung, Absicherung und Evaluierung von Lieferanten und ganzen Wertschöpfungsketten unterstützt. Auf Basis von künstlicher Intelligenz durchleuchtet die scoutbee Technologie Artimis Kunden-Lieferantenbeziehungen, Störungen und Lieferauffälligkeiten ganzer Industrien.

 

Maximilian P. Wagner

CEO, SMS digital

 

Maximilian Wagner (CEO SMS digital), ist verantwortlich für den Aufbau des digitalen Start-up der SMS group. Nach seinem International Business Studium in Maastricht und am Rensselaer Polytechnic Institut kam er zu ehemals ThyssenKrupp Stainless (jetzt Outokumpu) in die Abteilung Verbesserungsprogramme/Investitionen. 5 Jahre und mehrere Stationen später, ging er 2013 zur Unternehmensentwicklung der SMS group. Während er an mehreren Service relevanten Projekten arbeitete, formte er 2015 mit einigen Kollegen ein Team, das sich auf Digitalisierung konzentrierte. Schließlich, führte die Projektarbeit zur Gründung der SMS digital als eigenständige Firma, die dafür zuständig ist, den Kunden der SMS group digitale Lösungen zu liefern.

Moderation

Rene van den Hövel

Zweigstellenleiter, AHK USA-San Francisco

 

Seit August 2010 ist Herr van den Hövel Leiter der AHK USA-San Francsico und verantwortlich für die Consulting und Business Development Aktivitäten der Auslandshandelskammer an der Westküste der USA. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in San Francisco war er Leiter der Consulting Abteilung am Hauptsitz der AHK in New York City. Von 2007 bis 2009 war er zudem Repräsentant der Wirtschaftsförderung Bremen in den Vereinigten Staaten. 

Herr van den Hövel schloss sich der Auslandshandelskammer im Jahr 2005 an, nachdem er in den  Bereichen Social Media und Mobile Marketing in Deutschland arbeitete. Er studierte internationales Marketing an der Fachhochschule Münster sowie am Juniata College in Pennsylvania, USA. Vor seinem Studium hat Herr van den Hövel eine Ausbildung als Industriekaufmann bei der Elefanten AG, einem führenden Hersteller von Kinderschuhen, abgeschlossen.

 

© 2019 German American Chamber of Commerce of the Midwest, Inc.