top of page

 Fintech workshop 

Favored by ubiquitous access to the Internet and the rapid spread of smartphones and tablets, it has become quite easy for many startups and young companies to offer new interfaces and services in the field of financial technology, or "Fintech" for short. These primarily affect established banks and insurance companies, which are losing market share through innovative, disruptive business models. Attractive niche solutions are also the product of this new development. Fintech enables consumers to conduct banking transactions directly online without a middleman, take out loans or complete payment transactions. Fintech is a fast-growing industry, especially in the USA and Great Britain, in which the local venture capital scene likes to invest. In Germany, this trend is not quite as prevalent.  However, the German fintech centers Berlin, Munich and the banking metropolis Frankfurt are on the rise. 

 

The workshop is intended to shed light on the current situation of so-called fintech startups in Germany, present the challenges of established companies and formulate an outlook on further developments in this innovative segment.

Our speakers

dr Jochen Biedermann

Senior Advisor, Frankfurt Main Finance

 

dr Biedermann is an expert in capital market issues and advises international financial centers, stock exchanges, regulatory authorities and companies from Frankfurt and Hong Kong. He supports leading financial centers in setting up an attractive FinTech ecosystem, which promotes young companies with innovative business models at the interface between finance and IT. From 1999-2013 Dr. Biedermann held various managerial positions at Deutsche Börse AG in Frankfurt. From 2001-2005 he also worked as a seminar leader for the Frankfurt School of Finance & Management. dr Biedermann holds a PhD in mathematics from the University of Cottbus and a degree in mathematics/computer science from the University of Göttingen.

 

Christian Hopp

Founder Director, main incubator

\

Christian Hoppe is the innovative head of the main incubator. He also demonstrates his creativity as Head of Credit Solutions in the Mittelstandsbank. Christian Hoppe began his career as a business and financial controller in corporate banking at Dresdner Bank and was most recently a credit portfolio manager at Dresdner Kleinwort. He founded his first company at the age of 21 and today, in addition to his banking career, is the managing partner of a leading information platform for German corporate bonds.

Ramin Niroumand

Co-Founder & Managing Partner 

 

With his expertise and experience from consulting more than 20 international banks, Ramin Niroumand advises the founding teams of FinLeap on strategy and the development of new business models. He previously worked for DKB Deutsche Kreditbank AG and Deloitte. As innovation manager at DKB, he was responsible for the implementation of electronic and mobile payment systems. At the age of 24, Niroumand was a Senior Consultant at Deloitte.

 

Moritz von der Linden

Chief Sales, Product & IT Officer, CRX Markets AG 

Moritz von der Linden is responsible for Sales, Product & IT at CRX Markets AG in his position as a member of the Management Board. Previously, he was a co-founder and CEO of FX trading platform 360T, former vice chairman of illiquid securities valuation service ValuePrice, and an associate at Deutsche Bank. Mr von der Linden holds a degree in business administration from the Universities of Passau and Helsinki.

moderation

Dietmar Rieg

Managing Director, AHK USA-New York
 

Dietmar Rieg was appointed Managing Director of the German-American Chamber of Commerce in New York in July 2013.

Mr. Rieg began his career in 1991 at BayernLB in Munich, from where he moved to their New York branch in 1993. He has held positions in credit assessment, corporate banking, and project and trade finance. From 2006 to 2008 he moved back to Munich, where he was initially responsible for corporate customer business in several sectors and then headed the corporate banking non-euro division. In 2008 he returned to New York to manage BayernLB's New York branch as branch manager until 2013.

Mr. Rieg is an economist with a degree from the University of Tübingen and received an MBA from the Stern School of Business at New York University.

bottom of page

Workshop Fintech 

Begünstigt durch den allgegenwärtigen Zugriff auf das Internet und die rasante Verbreitung von Smartphones und Tablets ist es für viele Startups und Jungunternehmen recht einfach geworden, im Bereich der Finanztechnologie, kurz „Fintech“, neuartige Schnittstellen und Dienstleistungen anzubieten. Diese betreffen vor allem etablierte Banken und Versicherungen, denen durch innovative disruptive Geschäftsmodelle Marktanteile abgenommen werden. Attraktive Nischenlösungen sind ebenfalls das Produkt dieser neuen Entwicklung. Den Verbrauchern wird durch Fintech ermöglicht, Bankgeschäfte ohne Mittelsmann direkt online zu tätigen, Kredite aufzunehmen oder Bezahlvorgänge abzuschließen. Fintech ist vor allem in den USA und Großbritannien ein stark wachsender Wirtschaftszweig, in den die dortige Venture Capital-Szene gerne investiert. In Deutschland ist dieser Trend noch nicht ganz so vorherrschend.  Allerdings sind die deutschen Fintech-Zentren Berlin, München und die Bankenmetropole Frankfurt im Aufwind. 

 

Der Workshops soll die gegenwärtige Situation sogenannter Fintech Startups in Deutschland beleuchten, die Herausforderungen der etablierten Unternehmen darstellen und einen Ausblick auf die weiteren Entwicklungen in diesem innovativen Segment formulieren.

Unsere Sprecher

Dr. Jochen Biedermann

Senior Advisor, Frankfurt Main Finance

 

Dr. Biedermann ist Experte in Kapitalmarktfragen und berät von Frankfurt und Hong Kong aus internationale Finanzplätze, Börsen, Regulierungsbehörden und Unternehmen. Er unterstützt führende Finanzplätze beim Aufbau eines attraktiven FinTech-Ökosystems, welches junge Unternehmen mit innovativen Geschäftsmodellen an der Schnittstelle zwischen Finance und IT fördert. Von 1999-2013 war Dr. Biedermann in verschiedenen leitenden Positionen für die Deutsche Börse AG in Frankfurt aktiv. Von 2001-2005 war er darüber hinaus als Seminarleiter für die Frankfurt School of Finance & Management tätig. Dr. Biedermann ist promovierter Mathematiker mit einem Abschluss der Universität Cottbus sowie einem Diplom in Mathematik/Informatik der Universität Göttingen.

 

Christian Hoppe

Founder Director, main incubator

\

Christian Hoppe ist der innovative Kopf des main incubators. Seine Kreativität stellt er u.a. auch als Leiter Credit Solutions in der Mittelstandsbank unter Beweis. Christian Hoppe begann seine Karriere als Business und Financial Controller im Corporate Banking der Dresdner Bank und war zuletzt Credit Portfolio Manager bei Dresdner Kleinwort. Bereits mit 21 Jahren gründete er seine erste Firma und ist heute neben seiner Bankkarriere Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter einer führenden Informationsplattform für deutsche Corporate Bonds.

Ramin Niroumand

Co-Founder & Managing Partner 

 

Mit seiner Expertise und Erfahrung aus dem Consulting von über 20 internationalen Banken berät Ramin Niroumand die Gründerteams von FinLeap hinsichtlich Strategie und Entwicklung neuer Geschäftsmodelle. Zuvor war er bei der DKB Deutsche Kreditbank AG sowie Deloitte tätig. Als Innovationsmanager der DKB war er für die Implementierung von elektronischen & mobilen Zahlungssystemen verantwortlich. Bereits im Alter von 24 Jahren war Niroumand Senior Consultant bei Deloitte.

 

Moritz von der Linden

Vorstand Vertrieb, Produkt & IT, CRX Markets AG 

Moritz von der Linden ist bei der CRX Markets AG in seiner Position als Vorstand verantwortlich für Vertrieb, Produkt & IT. Zuvor war er Mitgründer und Vorstand der Devisenhandelsplattform 360T, ehemaliger Vice Chairman des Bewertungsservice für illiquide Wertpapiere ValuePrice und Associate bei Deutsche Bank. Herr von der Linden hat einen Abschluss als Diplom-Kaufmann an den Universitäten Passau und Helsinki.

Moderation

Dietmar Rieg

Geschäftsführer, AHK USA-New York
 

Dietmar Rieg wurde im Juli 2013 zum Geschäftsführer der Deutsch-Amerikanischen Handelskammer in New York ernannt.

Herr Rieg begann seine Laufbahn 1991 bei der BayernLB in München, von wo er 1993 zu deren New Yorker Niederlassung wechselte. Er hatte Positionen in der Kreditbeurteilung, des Corporate Banking, sowie Projekt- und Handelsfinanzierung inne. Von 2006 bis 2008 wechselte er wieder nach München, wo er zunächst für die Firmenkundengeschäfte mehrerer Branchen verantwortlich war und darauffolgend den Geschäftsbereich des Corporate Banking Non-Euro leitete. 2008 kehrte er nach New York zurück, um die New Yorker Niederlassung der BayernLB als Niederlassungsleiter bis 2013 zu leiten.

Herr Rieg ist Wirtschaftswissenschafter mit Abschluss der Universität Tübingen und erhielt einen M.B.A. an der Stern School of Business der New York University.

© 2019 German American Chamber of Commerce of the Midwest, Inc.