top of page

 Workshop CFOs 

The traditional tasks of a CFO, such as analysis, reporting or controlling, are increasingly being supplemented by strategic consulting functions. The CFO supports the development and definition of the company's overall strategy and also presents the progress of the implementation of strategic goals to external stakeholders. In addition, he must ensure that business decisions are based on sound financial criteria. This applies in particular to the development of new markets, the success of which often also depends on whether all the background information and necessary analyzes relating to the market to be developed have been provided in advance. This requires a double effort from the Chief Financial Officer, who is responsible for the company's financial management. He must proactively and supportively develop and implement initiatives for the financing and implementation of the project.

 

In this workshop/panel, the challenges of a CFO in relation to market entry in the USA will be discussed and current developments in the requirement profile will be highlighted.

Our speakers

Wolfgang Hoffman

Wolfgang Hoffmann is a graduate industrial engineer. For more than 30 years he held management positions in the Bosch Group, mostly in the USA. In his role as commercial director of the Automotive Aftermarket Division in North America, he was responsible for the areas of controlling, accounting, planning, logistics, purchasing and IT. In addition, his area of responsibility included the implementation of M&A projects. Other important positions in the Bosch Group were tasks in the central audit department, global controlling for the Power Tools Division and commercial management functions in Japan,  Italy and in the USA. Wolfgang Hoffmann is married and lives with his family in Naperville, IL.

Barbara Lang

CFO, MAN Diesel & Turbo North America Inc.

 

Barbara Lang is CFO at MAN Diesel & Turbo North America. After studying business administration and economics, she began her career at Arthur Andersen in Germany in 1995. In 1997 she joined the Freudenberg Group and held various positions in finance in Germany and France. 

In 2004 she was appointed CFO at MAN Diesel & Turbo France and remained there until March 2013 when she joined MAN Diesel & Turbo North America. 

 

Andy Stecher

President/CEO, Plasmatreat  North America

 

Andreas Stecher is President/CEO for Plasmatreat North America, a subsidiary of Plasmatreat GmbH. Plasmatreat is the world market leader for material surface pretreatment prior to bonding, coatings and seals within the processing industry such as automotive engineering, electronics, medical technology and packaging. Plasmatreat North America operates with three separate business units in Toronto, Chicago and San Francisco. Mr. Stecher has more than 30 years of experience in C-level management at globally operating companies, especially in the transatlantic business area. After training as a bank clerk in Germany, he completed his training in the USA with a bachelor's and MBA.

Crispin devil

CFO, Lincare Holdings 

 

Mr. Teufel was appointed CFO of Lincare Holdings - part of The Linde Group - in March 2013. Before that he was Finance Director Global Accounting, Controlling and Tax of the Linde Engineering Division since 2011. He was also a member of the IFRS specialist committee of the German Accounting Standards Committee eV From 2005 to 2011, Mr. Teufel worked as Head of IFRS Competence Center & External Reporting at the corporate headquarters of Linde AG. His career began at PricewaterhouseCoopers in Frankfurt, where he passed his exams to become a tax consultant and certified public accountant. Mr. Teufel is a member of the board of directors of the German-American Chamber of Commerce in Atlanta.

 

moderation

Mark Tomkins

Managing Director, AHK USA-Chicago

 

Mark Tomkins has been working for the AHK USA-Chicago since 2006 and has already supported a large number of German companies from different industries with their market entry in the USA with his team. He has been the managing director of the AHK since May 2015 and a member of the board since 2009. During his tenure at the AHK, he played a leading role in developing the Skills Initiative, which supports companies and public institutions in introducing German dual training structures, including programs such as ICATT and CICES in Illinois, MAT2 in Michigan and KY FAME in Kentucky.

Before his time at the AHK, Mr. Tomkins was active in business development consulting for more than ten years and advised international companies on the establishment of strategic alliances and long-term cooperation.

 

bottom of page

Workshop CFOs 

Die traditionellen Aufgaben eines CFO, wie die Analyse, das Reporting oder das Controlling, werden mehr und mehr durch strategische Beratungsfunktionen ergänzt. Der CFO unterstützt bei der Entwicklung und Festlegung der Gesamtstrategie des Unternehmens und stellt zudem die Fortschritte der Umsetzung strategischer Ziele gegenüber externen Stakeholdern dar. Zudem muss er sicherstellen, dass Geschäftsentscheidungen auf soliden finanzwirtschaftlichen Kriterien basieren. Dies trifft besonders auf die Erschließung neuer Märkte zu, dessen Erfolg oft auch davon abhängt, ob im Vorfeld alle Hindergrundinformationen und erforderlichen Analysen in Bezug auf den zu erschließenden Markt bereitgestellt wurden. Dies verlangt vom Chief Financial Officer als Verantwortlichem für die finanzielle Steuerung des Unternehmens eine doppelte Leistung. Er muss proaktiv und unterstützend Initiativen zur Finanzierung sowie der Umsetzung des Projektes entwickeln und durchführen.

 

In diesem Workshop/Panel sollen die Herausforderungen eines CFO in Bezug auf den Markteintritt in die USA diskutiert, sowie aktuelle Entwicklungen des Anforderungsprofils herausgestellt werden.

Unsere Sprecher

Wolfgang Hoffmann

Wolfgang Hoffmann ist Diplom-Wirtschaftsingenieur. Er war über 30 Jahre in Führungspositio-nen der Bosch Gruppe tätig, zum großen Teil in den USA. In seiner Aufgabe als kaufmännischer Leiter der Automotive Aftermarket Division in Nordamerika war er zuständig für die Bereiche Controlling, Accounting, Planung, Logistik, Einkauf und IT. Darüber hinaus umfasste sein Aufgabengebiet die Durchführung von M&A-Projekten. Wesentliche weitere Stationen in der Bosch Gruppe waren Aufgaben im Zentralbereich Audit, weltweites Controlling für die Power Tools Division und kaufmännische Leitungsfunktionen in Japan,  Italien und in den USA. Wolfgang Hoffmann ist verheiratet und lebt mit seiner Familie in Naperville, IL.

Barbara Lang

CFO, MAN Diesel & Turbo North America Inc.

 

Barbara Lang ist bei MAN Diesel & Turbo North America als CFO tätig. Nach ihrem Studium der Betriebswirtschafts- und Volkswirtschaftslehre, begann sie im Jahr 1995 ihre Karriere bei Arthur Andersen in Deutschland. Im Jahr 1997 stieg sie bei der Freudenberg Gruppe ein und war in verschiedenen Positionen im Finanzbereich in Deutschland und Frankreich beschäftigt. 

2004 wurde sie bei MAN Diesel & Turbo France zum CFO ernannt und blieb dort, bis sie im März 2013 zu MAN Diesel & Turbo North America wechselte. 

 

Andy Stecher

President/CEO, Plasmatreat  North America

 

Andreas Stecher ist President/CEO für Plasmatreat North America, eine Tochterorganisation von Plasmatreat GmbH. Plasmatreat ist Weltmarktführer für Materialoberflächenvorbehandlung vor Verklebungen, Beschichtungen und Dichtungen innerhalb der vearbeitenden Industrie wie Automobilbau, Elektronik, Medizintechnik und Verpackungen. Plasmatreat North America operiert mit drei separaten Geschäftseinheiten in Toronto, Chicago und San Francisco. Herr Stecher hat über 30 Jahre Erfahrung im C-Level Management bei global operierenden Firmen, v.a. im transatlantischen Businessraum. Nach seiner Ausbildung als Bankkaufmann in Deutschland schloss er seine Ausbildung in den USA mit Bachelor und MBA ab.

Crispin Teufel

CFO, Lincare Holdings 

 

Herr Teufel wurde im März 2013 zum CFO von Lincare Holdings – Teil der Linde Group – ernannt. Davor war er seit 2011 Finance Director Global Accounting, Controlling und Tax der Linde Engineering Division. Außerdem war er Mitglied des IFRS Fachausschusses des Deutschen Rechnungslegungs Standards Committees e.V. Von 2005 bis 2011 hat Hr. Teufel als Head of IFRS Competence Center & External Reporting in der Unternehmenszentrale der Linde AG gearbeitet. Seine Karriere begann bei PricewaterhouseCoopers in Frankfurt wo er sein Examen zum Steuerberater und Certified Public Accountant ablegte. Hr. Teufel ist Mitglied des Aufsichtsrates der Deutsch-Amerikanischen Handelskammer in Atlanta.

 

Moderation

Mark Tomkins

Geschäftsführer, AHK USA-Chicago

 

Mark Tomkins ist seit 2006 für die AHK USA-Chicago tätig und hat mit seinem Team bereits eine Vielzahl deutscher Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichen Branchen beim Markteinstieg in die USA unterstützt. Seit Mai 2015 ist er Geschäftsführer der AHK und seit 2009 Mitglied des Vorstands. Während seiner Tätigkeit bei der AHK war er federführend in der Entwicklung der Skills Initiative, die Unternehmen und öffentliche Einrichtungen bei der Einführung von deutschen dualen Ausbildungsstrukturen unterstützt, darunter Programme wie ICATT und CICESS in Illinois, MAT2 in Michigan und KY FAME in Kentucky, beteiligt.

Vor seiner Zeit bei der AHK war Herr Tomkins mehr als zehn Jahre im Bereich Business Development Consulting aktiv und beriet internationale Unternehmen beim Aufbau strategischer Allianzen und langfristiger Kooperationen.

 

© 2019 German American Chamber of Commerce of the Midwest, Inc.