top of page
Produktionsaufbau_5x5.png

German companies in the USA are always looking for innovative and successful growth strategies to successfully develop the US market. Growth targets can be achieved quickly by acquiring companies or entering into joint ventures. In addition, there is the possibility of achieving growth on your own, for example by developing new products or opening up additional sales channels and setting up your own production.

 

With regard to the establishment or expansion of production or the topic of mergers & acquisitions, 50% of the companies surveyed in the German American Business Outlook 2019 study stated that they wanted to expand their capacities in 2019. One in five firms plans to expand their business through M&A in 2019, up from 8% in 2017 and 11% of planned M&A activity in 2018.

 

The "Production Setup and Expansion" workshop is aimed at companies that want to further expand their economic involvement in the USA and is intended to help companies to prepare and prepare comprehensively for the various steps that e.g deals in particular with practical questions and their answers.

Our speakers

Photo_Philipp-Michael Kusche.png

Philipp Michael Kusche
Manager Strategic Marketing and Sales, Körber Logistics

Philipp-Michael Kusche accompanies and supports the planning and implementation of Körber Logistics' strategic initiatives and works in the areas of business development and M&A. Since 2019 he has been part of the Systems business unit, the leading provider of fully integrated applications for the optimization of complex internal and external logistics processes, based in Bad Nauheim, Germany. Mr. Kusche started his career at an international strategy consultancy in Frankfurt and has held leading positions in various young Swiss companies in the financial and medical technology sectors. Mr. Kusche obtained his diploma in economic physics at the University of Ulm.

Photo_Manuel Merkt.jpg

Manuel Merkt
President & COO, Hermle USA Inc.

Manuel Merkt began his professional career with a 3.5-year dual apprenticeship at Maschinenfabrik Berthold Hermle AG. He then obtained his Bachelor of Engineering from the University of Applied Sciences in Konstanz and a Bachelor of European Engineering Studies from Coventry University in Great Britain.
At the end of 2010, Manuel assumed the role of executive assistant at Hermle's North American headquarters. In 2014, Manuel was promoted to Operations Manager and in 2016 he assumed the position of Executive VP Operations at Hermle USA. Just two years later, Manuel was promoted to President & COO and now leads the Executive Management Team

Picture1.jpg

Klaus Schute
General Manager, Graepel Loeningen GmbH & Co. KG

After studying mechanical engineering at the TU Braunschweig, I started my career in 1999 in the automotive industry.

With three years of experience in method planning and forming simulation for body parts, I switched to the perforated sheet metal manufacturer Graepel. In the first six years in the Graepel Group, I worked as a project manager for the agricultural machinery industry and, in this function, regularly visited customers in the Midwest of the USA. From 2008 to 2013, as Head of Design and Project Management, I was intensively involved in the development and expansion of Graepel North America from the Lower Saxony location. At the beginning of 2014 I took over the management of the largest location of the Graepel Group in Löningen.

moderation

Foto_Gerrit Ahlers final.jpg

Gerrit Ahlers
Director, Consulting & Corporate Development Services, AHK USA-Chicago

Mr. Ahlers is in charge of market entry and business development services in the consulting department. Here he works together with his team on topics such as market entry strategies, business development, business representative offices, market research, searches for sales partners, site selection, mergers and acquisitions as well as cultural differences.

Before joining AHK USA-Chicago, Mr. Ahlers held a leading role in a medium-sized management consultancy, where he was responsible for setting up and expanding the US branch. In his previous positions, Mr. Ahlers was already active in Europe, Australia and North America.

Mr. Ahlers has an MBA degree with a focus on brand management, sustainable and strategic management from the University of Bremen.

This workshop is sponsored by:

Think_Kentucky.png
bottom of page

Workshop Produktionsauf- und -ausbau 

Deutsche Unternehmen in den USA suchen stets nach innovativen und erfolgreichen Wachstumsstrategien zur erfolgreichen Bearbeitung des US-Marktes. Durch den Zukauf von Unternehmen oder dem Eingehen von Joint Ventures können Wachstumsziele schnell erreicht werden. Daneben gibt es die Möglichkeit aus eigener Kraft, z.B. durch die Entwicklung neuer Produkte oder die Erschließung zusätzlicher Vertriebskanäle und dem Aufbau einer eigenen Produktion Wachstum zu realisieren.

 

Was den Auf- oder Ausbau einer Produktion oder das Thema Mergers & Acquisitions anbelangt, gaben im Rahmen der Studie German American Business Outlook 2019 50% der befragten Unternehmen an, dass sie ihre Kapazitäten im Jahr 2019 ausbauen wollen. Eine von fünf Firmen plant ihr Geschäft in 2019 durch M&A zu erweitern, ein Anstieg gegenüber 8% in 2017 und 11% geplanter M&A-Aktivitäten in 2018.

 

Der Workshop „Produktionsauf- und -ausbau“ richtet sich an Unternehmen, die ihr wirtschaftliches Engagement in den USA weiter ausbauen möchten und sollen Unternehmen dabei helfen sich umfassend auf die verschiedenen Schritte, die bspw. ein Unternehmenskauf oder der Produktionsaufbau mit sich bringt, vorzubereiten und befasst sich besonders mit praktischen Fragestellungen und deren Beantwortung.

Unsere Sprecher

Philipp-Michael Kusche
Manager Strategic Marketing and Sales, Körber Logistics

Philipp-Michael Kusche begleitet und unterstützt die Planung und Umsetzung der strategischen Initiativen von Körber Logistics und ist tätig im Bereich Business Development und M&A. Seit 2019 ist er Teil des Geschäftsfelds -Systeme, dem führenden Anbieter vollintegrierter Anwendungen zur Optimierung komplexer interner und externer Logistikprozesse, mit Sitz in Bad Nauheim, Deutschland. Herr Kusche begann seine Karriere bei einer internationalen Strategieberatung in Frankfurt und hatte führende Positionen bei verschiedenen Schweizer Jungunternehmen aus dem Finanz- und medizintechnischen Sektor inne. An der Universität Ulm erlangte Herr Kusche sein Diplom in Wirtschaftsphysik.

Manuel Merkt
President & COO, Hermle USA Inc.

Manuel Merkt begann seine berufliche Kariere mit einer 3,5-jährigen dualen Ausbildung bei der Maschinenfabrik Berthold Hermle AG. Anschließend erlangte er seinen Bachelor of Engineering an der Fachhochschule Konstanz sowie einen Bachelor of European Engineering Studies an der Coventry University in Großbritannien.
Ende 2010 übernahm Manuel die Rolle des Assistenten der Geschäftsleitung in der nordamerikanischen Zentrale von Hermle. 2014 wurde Manuel zum Operations Manager befördert und übernahm 2016 die Position des Executive VP Operations bei Hermle USA. Nur zwei Jahre später wurde Manuel zum President & COO befördert und leitet nun das Executive Management Team

Klaus Schute
General Manager, Graepel Löningen GmbH & Co. KG

Nach dem Studium des Maschinenbaus an der TU-Braunschweig erfolgte mein beruflicher Start 1999 in der Automotive Branche.

Mit drei Jahren Erfahrung in der Methodenplanung und Umformsimulation für Karosserieteile wechselte ich zum Lochblechhersteller Graepel. In den ersten sechs Jahren in der Graepel Gruppe war ich als Projektmanager für die Landmaschinenindustrie tätig und in dieser Funktion auch regelmäßig im mittleren Westen der USA bei den Kunden unterwegs. Von 2008 bis 2013 engagierte ich mich als Leiter Konstruktion und Projektmanagement vom Standort in Niedersachsen aus intensiv am Auf- und Ausbau der Graepel North America. Anfang 2014 übernahm ich die Geschäftsführung am größten Standort der Graepel Gruppe in Löningen.

Moderation

Gerrit Ahlers
Direktor, Consulting & Corporate Development Services, AHK USA-Chicago

Herr Ahlers leitet in der Consultingabteilung den Bereich der Markteintritts- und Business Development Dienstleistungen. Hier arbeitet er gemeinsam mit seinem Team an Themen, wie bspw. Markteintrittsstrategien, Business Development, Geschäftsrepäsentanzen, Marktrecherchen, Vertriebspartnersuchen, Standortauswahl, Fusionen und Übernahmen sowie kulturelle Unterschiede.

Vor seiner Tätigkeit bei der AHK USA-Chicago hatte Herr Ahlers eine führende Rolle bei einer mittelständischen Unternehmensberatung in der er für den Auf- und Ausbau der US-Niederlassung zuständig war. In seinen vorherigen Tätigkeiten war Herr Ahlers bereits in Europa, Australien und Nordamerika aktiv.

Herr Ahlers hat einen MBA-Abschluss mit den Schwerpunkten Markenmanagement, nachhaltiges und strategisches Management von der Universität Bremen.

Dieser Workshop wird gesponsert von:

Think_Kentucky.png

© 2019 German American Chamber of Commerce of the Midwest, Inc.