top of page
WS-Medtech_5x5.jpg

The US market for medical technology has grown steadily for decades and has developed into one of the most lucrative sectors in the healthcare sector. With a total market volume of approx. USD 150 billion (2017), the USA is not only the largest manufacturer of medical devices on the world market (40% share), but also the world's largest consumer of medical devices with annual imports of over USD 55 billion. USD.

 

The US medtech industry represents some of the largest medtech companies in the world. German manufacturers can therefore expect strong competition. There are many opportunities in the US medical technology market, especially for innovative newcomers, but the strong competition and the sometimes considerable market entry barriers should not be underestimated. This applies above all to the demanding FDA approval process and possible product liability issues. The FDA has a complex regulatory and device classification system that requires manufacturers and distributors to register their businesses and register their devices, among other things.

 

The "Medical Technology" workshop addresses current opportunities for German medical technology manufacturers in the USA and addresses possible challenges and barriers to market entry. Workshop participants can learn from experienced German company representatives who have already successfully entered and expanded in the US market.

Our speakers

Photo_Arne Dethlefs.jpg

dr -Ing. Arne Dethlefs

CEO, Garz & Fricke GmbH

Dr.-Ing. Arne Dethlefs is CEO of Garz & Fricke Inc. based in Minneapolis, Minnesota and production manager at Garz & Fricke GmbH in Hamburg. In his function as production manager, he is responsible for the company's own electronics production, device assembly for human-machine interfaces and components for vending machines, and industrial engineering. Before that, he worked as a senior engineer at the Institute for Machine Tools and Factory Management at the TU Berlin and as a project manager at the Fraunhofer IPK. He studied mechanical engineering at the TU Hamburg and received his doctorate in 2015 with a thesis on the basics of vibratory finishing at the TU Berlin.

Photo_Sven-Rene Freidel_1.jpg

Sven René Friedel

Owner and Managing Director, Managing Director, Berlin Heart

Mr. Friedel studied economics in Fulda and Berlin. He has known the development of Berlin Heart since the start-up phase. Initially, Mr. Friedel was responsible for various international VC financings as head of finance and also accompanied the sale of Berlin Heart in 2006
the current shareholder. After setting up the subsidiary Berlin Heart Inc. in the USA, he took over the management of ECP Entwicklungsgesellschaft mbH in 2008 in addition to the commercial management at Berlin Heart. ECP pursued the development of a highly innovative
percutaneous assist system for applications in cardiology. In 2014, Mr. Friedelderen realized a successful sale together with an extensive IP portfolio to Abiomed Inc. Since October 2014, he and Dr. Ares K. Menon the business of Berlin Heart.

Foto_Marco Kalms_edited.jpg

Marco Kalms

Founder & CEO, Kalms Consulting GmbH

Marco Kalms has over 25 years of experience in various management positions in the
healthcare industry. As a long-standing Sales Manager, Country Manager Germany and Managing Director Europe, he made a significant contribution to the growth of American Medical System, Inc., a US medical device manufacturer that now belongs to Boston Scientific. In 2012 he founded the company Kalms Consulting GmbH, which supports start-ups and established companies in medical technology, diagnostics, health IT and life sciences in all phases of market access in Germany and international markets. The KalmsConsulting team consists of senior consultants with many years of practical experience in the industry.

Photo_Thomas Weber_1.jpg

Thomas Weber

CQO, Head of Quality and Regulatory Affairs, Löwenstein Medical Technology

CEO, Lowenstein Medical Americas

Thomas Weber has been working in medical technology for over 15 years and has been responsible for regulatory activities for the implementation of the company's internationalization strategies within the Löwenstein Group since 2012 as CQO, Head of Quality and Regulatory Affairs at Löwenstein Medical Technology (formerly Weinmann Geräte für Medizin). . With his team, he processes medical device approvals in over 40 countries, including particularly challenging markets such as China, Japan and the USA. He has also been CEO of the US subsidiary since 2018, where he drives the Löwenstein Group's expansion into the North and South American markets.

moderation

Foto_Susanne Rehse.jpg

Susan Rehse

Branch Manager, AHK USA-Philadelphia

Susanne Rehse has been with the AHK USA-New York since February 2011. On January 1, 2019, she took over as Executive Director of the Philadelphia office. Previously, Ms. Rehse worked as a senior manager in business development consulting at the AHK USA-New York and was responsible for market entry consulting in the north-east of the USA. Here she successfully supported various German SMEs in entering the US market, carried out a large number of business travel programs, delegation trips, projects and events and wrote countless market analyses. Ms. Rehse studied economics at the Cologne University of Applied Sciences and the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater. She also completed an apprenticeship as an office communications clerk at Deutsche Telekom AG.

This workshop is sponsored by:

MTO.PNG
bottom of page

Workshop Medizintechnik 

Der US-Markt für Medizintechnik ist seit Jahrzehnten stetig gewachsen und hat sich zu einem der lukrativsten Branchen im Gesundheitssektor entwickelt. Die USA sind bei einem Gesamtmarktvolumen von ca. 150 Mrd. USD (2017) nicht nur der größte Hersteller von medizinischen Geräten auf dem Weltmarkt (Anteil 40%), sondern auch der weltweit größte Konsument von medizinischen Geräten mit jährlichen Importen von über 55 Mrd. USD.

 

Die US-Medizintechnikindustrie repräsentiert einige der größten Medtech-Unternehmen der Welt. Deutsche Hersteller können daher starken Wettbewerb erwarten. Speziell für innovative Newcomer gibt es im US-Medizintechnikmarkt vielfältige Chancen, dabei sollten aber die starke Konkurrenz und die zum Teil beachtlichen Markteintrittsbarrieren nicht unterschätzt werden. Dies gilt vor allem für den anspruchsvollen Zulassungsprozess der FDA und mögliche Produkthaftungsfragen. Die FDA verfügt über ein komplexes Regulierungs- und Geräteklassifizierungssystem, bei dem Hersteller und Händler u.a. ihren Geschäftsbetrieb anmelden und ihre Geräte registrieren müssen.

 

Der Workshop „Medizintechnik“ thematisiert aktuelle Chancen für deutsche Medizintechnikhersteller in den USA und geht auf mögliche Herausforderungen und Markteinstiegsbarrieren ein. Teilnehmer des Workshops können von erfahrenen deutschen Firmenvertretern lernen, die bereits erfolgreich den Einstieg und die Expansion im US-Markt absolviert haben.

Unsere Sprecher

Dr. -Ing. Arne Dethlefs

CEO, Garz & Fricke GmbH

Dr.-Ing. Arne Dethlefs ist CEO der Garz & Fricke Inc. mit Sitz in Minneapolis, Minnesota sowie Produktionsleiter bei der Garz & Fricke GmbH in Hamburg. In der Funktion als Produktionsleiter verantwortet er sowohl die eigene Elektronikfertigung sowie die Gerätemontage für Human Machine Interfaces und Komponenten für Verkaufsautomaten als auch das Industrial Engineering. Zuvor war er am Institut für Werkzeugmaschinen und Fabrikbetrieb der TU Berlin als Oberingenieur sowie am Fraunhofer IPK als Projektleiter tätig. Er studierte an der TU Hamburg Maschinenbau und wurde 2015 mit einer Arbeit zu den Grundlagen des Gleitschleifens an der TU Berlin promoviert.

Sven-René Friedel

Inhaber und Geschäftsführer, Geschäftsführer, Berlin Heart

Herr Friedel studierte in Fulda und Berlin Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Er kennt die Entwicklung der Berlin Heart seit der Start-Up Phase. Initial war Herr Friedel als Leiter Finanzen für diverse internationale VC-Finanzierungen verantwortlich und begleitete in 2006 auch die Veräußerung der Berlin Heart an
die heutige Gesellschafterin. Nach dem Aufbau der Tochtergesellschaft Berlin Heart Inc. in den USA übernahm er im Jahr 2008 neben der kaufmännischen Leitung bei Berlin Heart die Geschäftsführung der ECP Entwicklungsgesellschaft mbH. ECP verfolgte die Entwicklung eines hochinnovativen
perkutanen Assist-Systems für Anwendungen in der Kardiologie. Im Jahr 2014 realisierte Herr Friedelderen erfolgreichen Verkauf zusammen mit einem umfangreichen IP-Portfolio an Abiomed Inc. Seit Oktober 2014 führt er zusammen mit Herrn Dr. Ares K. Menon die Geschäfte von Berlin Heart.

Marco Kalms

Founder & CEO, Kalms Consulting GmbH

Marco Kalms besitzt über 25-jährige Erfahrung in verschiedenen Führungspositionen in der
Gesundheitsbranche. Als langjähriger Sales Manager, Country Manager Germany und Managing Director Europe trug er erheblich zum Wachstum von American Medical System, Inc. bei, einem US-Amerikanischen Medizinproduktehersteller, der mittlerweile zur Firma Boston Scientific gehört. 2012 gründete er das Unternehmen Kalms Consulting GmbH, welches Start-Ups sowie etablierte Unternehmen in Medizintechnik, Diagnostik, HealthIT und Biowissenschaften in allen Phasen des Marktzugangs in Deutschland sowie internationalen Märkten unterstützt. Das Team von KalmsConsulting besteht aus Senior Consultants mit langjähriger praktischer Erfahrung in der Industrie.

Thomas Weber

CQO, Head of Quality and Regulatory Affairs, Löwenstein Medical Technology

CEO, Löwenstein Medical Americas

Thomas Weber ist seit über 15 Jahren in der Medizintechnik tätig und verantwortet seit 2012 bei der Firma Löwenstein Medical Technology (ehemals Weinmann Geräte für Medizin) als CQO, Head of Quality and Regulatory Affairs die regulatorischen Aktivitäten zur Umsetzung der Internationalisierungsstrategien des Unternehmens innerhalb der Löwenstein Gruppe. Mit seinem Team bearbeitet er Medizinprodukte-Zulassungen in über 40 Ländern, darunter besonders herausfordernde Märkte wie China, Japan und den USA. Seit 2018 ist er außerdem CEO der US-Amerikanischen Niederlassung und treibt dort die Expansion der Löwenstein Gruppe auf dem Nord- und Südamerikanischen Markt voran.

Moderation

Susanne Rehse

Zweigstellenleiterin, AHK USA-Philadelphia

Susanne Rehse ist seit Februar 2011 bei der AHK USA-New York tätig. Zum 1. Januar 2019 hat sie als Executive Director die Leitung des Büros in Philadelphia übernommen. Zuvor war Frau Rehse als Senior Manager im Business Development Consulting der AHK USA-New York tätig und für die Markteinstiegsberatung im Nordosten der USA zuständig. Hier hat sie diverse deutsche KMUs erfolgreich beim US-Markteinstieg unterstützt, eine Vielzahl von Geschäftsreiseprogrammen, Delegationsreisen, Projekten und Veranstaltungen verantwortlich durchgeführt sowie unzählige Marktanalysen verfasst. Frau Rehse studierte Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Fachhochschule Köln und der University of Wisconsin-Whitewater. Sie hat außerdem eine Ausbildung zur Kauffrau für Bürokommunikation bei der Deutschen Telekom AG absolviert.

Dieser Workshop wird gesponsert von:

MTO.PNG

© 2019 German American Chamber of Commerce of the Midwest, Inc.